Caramel Apple Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe was good, but the crust part was a bit bland. I added cinnamon, but it also needed a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My family/guests loved this. I definitely thought it needed more apples, but loved the texture of the caramel and bar parts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These are very good but very rich. I only had 1 c. of caramel topping, and even that seemed like a bit much. I also used a 13x9 pan, since I didn't have the larger size, and it worked out fine. I also recommend dishing these out in small servings! I also used Granny Smith apples to try to balance out the sweetness of the caramel. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Based on the reviews, I increased the apples to 3 cups. I still found it way to sweet. If I make again, I would decrease the caramel topping to 1 cup ande increase the apples to 4 cups. The caramel does make it very hard to cut and eat around the edges. Took this as a dessert to friends house last night and many guest left some of the dessert on their plates -- not something I like to see when it's something I cooked!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Too heavy and too sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is an easy, delicious recipe. I use this and it is large enough to take to church and share. I like using pecans and use a bit more carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Extremely sweet. I used Granny Smith apples which helped cut the sweetness but if I make this recipe again I think I will use 3 cups of apples instead of 2. Also the caramel sauce got hard around the edges so I couldn't even cut those pieces in to bars. Maybe I baked it too long. Not sure I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Dissapointing. Lacked flavor. Maybe using Kraft Caramels in place of the ice cream topping/flour mixture would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I made this last week and it was great. I added a generous amount of cinnamon and I will also add raisins the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This is a great recipe - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States