Captain Jerod's Death Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought thia recipe was very interesting. I read the other reviews and made some changes. I used fresh pineapple, peeled the orange and brined the roast with a clove, spice based brine prior to the final cooking. It turned out moist, very flavorfull. Nice pineapple aftertaste. I will make this again. Thanks for a different take on boring pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuhebmtg

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I cooked it just like the recipe says and after six hours the pork turned out so dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this for supper the other night and the pork was VERY dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Like others, I wanted 2 love this and it sounded delicious since I love pineapple and spiced rum. Unfortunately, it wasn't what I had hoped. I did exactly what the recipe said but the flavors of the pineapple, rum and sugar never really came through (and I poked the pork A LOT) and it just ended up tasting like just plain old pork. Some salt and pepper over it with rice made it edible but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This got 4 stars from me, as I altered it a bit. I loved cooking w/ alcohol, and using spiced rum was a first for me, but I went with it - thinking rum drinks are sweet, and so I went for a sweet dish. I cooked the roast in a 6 quart crockpot for 6 hours w/ the liquid and brown sugar suggested. But I also added white onion, cubed raw sweet potatoes, chopped carrots, and the pineapple rings. It came out very nice and sweet, and the aroma was fantastic. I couldn't say I tasted the rum, but I think the combo came out very good. My 3 year old loved it, and I have plenty of leftovers for lunch/dinner this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smoss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great flavors! goes great with white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I felt challenged by all the bad reviews...I mostly followed the recipe, though I started by pan searing and seasoning with salt and pepper. I peeled and sectioned the oranges and used a tablespoon of brown sugar. I paired this with coconut basmati rice...it was a sweet dish. All I was missing was a pina colada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Tasteless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States