Captain Crunch Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I tried making the chicken with an egg wash and flour before rolling in the captain crunch, this chicken turned out wonderful with those recommendations. I used a mixture of spicy mustard and mayonnaise for a sauce. Will definetly hold onto this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Extremely fast and easy to make. I took some other reviewers advice and dipped the chicken in egg to coat before putting in with the cereal. This is sweet, but is a nice change for regular baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I tried something like this at Planet Hollywood which I loved. These were almost as good except that the coating at the bottom of the chicken melted off as it baked. Maybe it's because I ground the cereal in my handy chopper instead of crushing it in a bag (it might have been too fine) I used chicken fillets instead of the breasts and I would do that again next time (they took 35 min to bake). We dipped these in dijonnaise and it was the perfect sauce for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I charred some of the smaller pieces (so don't cook the smaller pieces as long). But, all in all, it was a great recipe. I put honey on the chicken but if anyone has any other ideas for a good condiment, I'd love to hear it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
If you follow the recipe the way it is, this is a 1*, however, with the addition of the following you will have better results. I based my rating on those additions. You need to make the Captain Crunch cereal very, very fine. With that also grind up very fine regular Corn Flakes. Mix those together. Also make an egg wash to dip the chicken into. Finally, mix a little flour, garlic powder, onion powder and freshly ground black pepper, together. Order should be: egg wash, flour mixture, cereal mixture. Also, I fry my tenders instead of baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Great recipe-not as sweet as you think it will turn out to be. I needed to coat only two chicken breasts, and ended up only using about 1 cup of cereal. Dipping the chicken in egg first helps them to be evenly coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I've been making this for years, but make sure you coat your chicken in ranch dressing prior to mixing it up with the Captain Crunch. It gives it a sweet flavor and texture. Also, instead of Captain Crunch - try Ritz crackers smashed up. But don't forget the Ranch Dressing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I should have trusted my instincts on this one! Simply not a good coating for chicken. It really had no flavor except for too sweet. Sorry but not a keeper for this family. Barb Sepke, Vancouver BC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I love the captain crunch chicken, I have been having it for years. Its easier to coat with the cereal if you dip the chicken in some flour and some beaten eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
VERY EASY AND GOOD. i cut the chicken into strips, that cuts the cooking time down by half, and serve it with fries and ranch dressing. definitely a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tremonton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States