Caprese on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These are the best for a health conscious appetizer, but to help kick up the flavor, try adding and reducing balsamic vinegar. To reduce your vinegar, pour into a small saucepan; bring to a boil over medium-high heat constantly stirring to prevent scorching the vinegar. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until the vinegar has reduced by half. Set aside, and cool to room temperature. When ready to serve, drizzle over the appetizer. For different variations/flavor try adding garlic, red pepper flakes, etc., while reducing. Note: the vinegar will naturally sweeten as it reduces and will keep for months properly stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Thank you, ALZ. These were delicious and oh so easy. I did, however, add to each toothpick a quarter of a slice of thinly cut prosciutto and drizzled the lot with garlic-infused olive oil to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this, but I used long skewers and repeated the pattern a couple of times then put them in a clear wide mouth vase filled with marbles for display it was the talk of the party, beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I have made this appetizer many times. I use the mozzarella balls that come in a marinated oil. I then drizzle some balsamic vinagrette salad dressing over the finished product. This just adds a bit more flavor. The are very well received everywhere I take them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was just the perfect addition to our breakfast plate this morning. Cheese, basil and tomatoes are not something either Hubs or I would make a point to snack on, so this was an ideal way to get us both to eat something good for us - not to mention they looked kinda cute on the plate. I didn't halve the cherry tomatoes - I thought they looked prettier whole. The fresh mozzarella balls are called bocconcini and are packed in a watery brine. They're worth seeking out to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
So simple, yet so delicious! This makes a great little appetizer not only for its color but also for its freshness and flavor. I left the cherry tomatoes whole and these were perfect served with wine and crusty Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These are so good! I marinated my mozzarella pearls in an Italian dressing made with balsamic vinegar over night. Got soooo many rav reviews, and requests for the recipe. Thank you for such a flavor full and fun one bite idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gelene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The 1st time I made this I followed it to a tee but the 2nd time I poked a few little holes in the sides of the tomatoes with a toothpick. They absorbed better & quicker I think. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindarw57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I bought the mozzarella already flavored with spices and in oil so I skipped the olive oil, salt/pepper step and it turned out fantastic. I love Caprese and think this is a great idea! Next time I may add a bit of basalmic out of my own preference but really, this was a good, quick snack that all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
So delicious and cute! I love Caprese salads, and make them often in the summer. I never tried making these little appetizers, and they are so easy and look so pretty on a platter. I didn't half the tomatoes I left them whole. Next time I make these, I'm going to use the marinated mozzarella balls, and use the seasoned oil from them to drizzle over these. A splash of balsamic with the olive oil is good also. Thanks for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States