Caprese on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were a huge hit yesterday (Thanksgiving)! I was fortunate to find marinated fresh mozzarella balls, so I used those instead of using the olive oil, salt and pepper; if you find those at your grocer they are a great alternative. Also, there were no cherry tomatoes available, so I got small "grape" tomatoes and cut them in half. These were quick and fun to assemble. A true mini-caprese salad on a stick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is my new favorite appetizer recipe. With simple preparation and just a few ingredients, these are great for last minute gatherings. I love that they are both flavorful and healthy. I will be making this A LOT! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Awesome way to make for a party. Most had never tasted the salad, thought is was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These are delicious and so easy! I've also varied it a little by putting a black olive on the toothpick, and/or chopping the basil, whisking it into the olive oil, and brushing it over the assembled skewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
These are the best for a health conscious appetizer, but to help kick up the flavor, try adding and reducing balsamic vinegar. To reduce your vinegar, pour into a small saucepan; bring to a boil over medium-high heat constantly stirring to prevent scorching the vinegar. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until the vinegar has reduced by half. Set aside, and cool to room temperature. When ready to serve, drizzle over the appetizer. For different variations/flavor try adding garlic, red pepper flakes, etc., while reducing. Note: the vinegar will naturally sweeten as it reduces and will keep for months properly stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Impressive, beautiful display, easy, creative and perfect for ANY party. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TILO0002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Made these for a housewarming party, both plates disappeared very quick. I bought the mozzarella balls that were already marinated which gave it more flavor and also placed each caprese ontop of sliced baget then drizzled olive oil infused with garlic n herb which alone is VERY addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I love caprese salad, and love how handy this is for parties. I slice the grape tomatoes in half, ditto for small balls of mozarella, then add olive oil, s&p, torn basil (the pieces stick to the tomatoe and mozarella) and balsamic viniegar. I can't do caprese without any vinegar! I thread regular toothpicks with the tomato and mozarella. At parties, there is never any left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Beautiful presentation and a major hit at the party! I used 1 tblsp balsamic vinegar, 3 tblsp EVO, and ground pepper, no salt, and left the cherry tomatoes whole. Excellent...thank you for a quick, easy, recipe that made me look soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I've done this too, so I agree that it's a great way to serve this dish. The only difference with mine is that I roast a minced garlic clove and mix it with the olive oil before drizzling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States