Caprese on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
These were good - I marinated the mozzarella in balsamic vinaigrette the night before to give some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
So simple and delicious. I love being able to grab the fresh basil and tomatoes out of my garden for this recipe. You might have a tendency to grab the block packaged mozzarella cheese but please skip that urge and do yourself a favor and buy the fresh called for. You won't regret it. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this at our last barbeque and it was a huge success! I drizzled it with Balsamic glaze and it was the perfect addition to our vegan/vegetarian/carnivores slider party. Nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Lefkowitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I had this appetizer several years ago at the wedding of a cousin in Italy --- the groom is a chef and has a restaurant on the Italian Riviera. At the wedding, the "Caprese" was offered on a skewer, the tomatoes being a bit larger than our "cherry tomatoes" - and - there were two of everything separated by a basil leaf (not folded). We have made these many times since, using a toothpick with small tomatoes and tiny mozzarella balls for a cocktail party "finger food" --- and using a skewer for serving with a dinner. I can tell you this, as I am sure you have heard many times, an essential of the Italian table has always been that the ingredients are the stars and are used when in season, bought from weekly itinerant farmers' street markets. In Italy, "picked-fresh" tomatoes are very accessible and plentiful, and so this "appetizer" is not a big problem for the 140 plus wedding guests. There is no vinegar involved --- the "fresh-picked" tomatoes were delectable on their own (as they are here when in season) and so the fresh mozzarella and basil (Liguria is famous for its basil, and it was there that Pesto was born). The only thing that is used is the best Olive Oil and fresh lemon juice, with a bit of salt, if desired - and, as I recall, this is true when this "salad" is served in Capri, where it originated, as well as other places in that area. Of course, one can "tweak" any recipe to taste - just thought I'd contribute to the discussion, for what it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very easy to prepare, delicious to eat starter for our Murder Mystery dinner! All suspects/guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These are a quick, easy & delicious app that everyone loves! Looks beautiful on a plate with fresh ingredients. I drizzle a balsamic reduction on top (boil 1 C balsamic vinegar w/ 1/4 C honey) still add some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I sliced the tomatoes in half and gave them a bit of salt. It added a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hollwitz Tye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Both healthy and delicious. Try adding black olives (could be halves), they add both color and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I have been making these for years and everybody LOVES them! Instead of putting a basil leaf of the stick, I just alternate the mozzarella and the cherry tomatoes. Then before serving, I roll up the basil leaves and cut them to make ribbons, I sprinkle over the skewers. Then....I take some balsamic vinaigrette and drizzle over everything. So easy, but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Schulle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just put everything in a bowl instead of on skewers. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States