Caprese Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This has great potential but needs a lot more balsamic vinegar. I think White Balsamic would be great in this and not give the salad thta muddy color. The instructions on cooking the Isreali couscous are very different than the package instructions. I tried it this way and after 25 minutes the liquid was not absorbed and the couscous wasn't tender. Toast the couscous in a little olive oil - add the boiling water - cover and simmer on very low for 10 - 12 minutes until the water is absorbed. I made this for the Western Region Allstar Faceless Frenzy July 2012. With the changes mentioned above, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I found this was a great side dish. I didn't care for the shallot but that wasn't enough for me to mark it down. Instead of dicing the mozzarella I just used the pearlini style -which is a fresh bite size mozzarella. I think next time I'll leave out the balsamic and olive oil, and substitute some pesto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I got impatient and ate this at room temperature. It was great! I added extra basil, used red onion instead of a shallot, and omitted the garlic. I would definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Made this salad and added kalamata olives. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
WE love this dish, It had great flavor. I suggest that you make this a few hours before serving so the flavors develop. Follow the recipe. I paired it with Cod with Italian Crumb Topping and French cut green beans with real bacon bits. This was a very nice meal enjoyed very much. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was a simple and easy dish. Great on a hot summer night. Quick to make and delicious. I added a lot more basil and added the couscous when it was still just a bit warm, so it really soaked up the flavors and wilted the basil a bit, but still had a nice bite to it. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was really good but I didn't care for it cold. Next time I will marinate the tomatoes and cheese at room temperature and add them to the couscous when it's still warm. The pepper was too overpowering for me, next time I would at least quarter the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
...this was wonderful...the only thing I did different...I used Trader Joe's Harvest Grains, instead of just plain couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States