Caprese Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
WOW - traditional Italian meets classic American! These flavors combine to make one tasty burger! This is definitely not your average "run of the mill" burger, but something more along the lines of the "gourmet". Be sure to marinate your tomatoes at room temperature. I added some chopped basil to the mix along with a bit of minced garlic. For the meat mixture, I cut back just a bit on the Parmesan cheese and basil and added a bit more tomato paste. If you don't want to add the tomato paste, you could easily sub in some chopped sun-dried tomatoes. Next time, I might add those in anyway because I love 'em! These smelled wonderful on the grill and tasted even better. We served them with a mix of melted mozzarella and provolone along with the tomatoes on toasted crusty Italian rolls - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Hi everyone! I submitted this recipe and since coming up with it have started to substitute about 1/4 cup storebought pesto for the basil, parm and garlic. It's easier and I think even tastier! The marinated tomatoes are a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Delizioso!!! . I find your recipe absolutely delightful! I used your suggestion of substituting basil pesto for the basil, parmesan and garlic mixture, another reviewer suggestion of using sun dried tomatoes in lieu of tomato paste and yet another suggestion by another reviewer of using Ciabatta bread which I brushed with a bit of garlic infused extra virgin olive oil and lightly toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a great alternative to a traditional burger. I prepared an Italian spread and the burger was the main dish. My guests loved it. Also I used Ciabatta bread instead of a traditional hamburger bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was so good! I used turkey instead of beef and didn't use tomato paste because I didn't want to open a whole can just for a tablespoon. I'm sure it's good with it, but everyone liked them just the way they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Incredibly easy to prepare and the most delicious burger I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Sooo tasty! I did exactly what the recipe said and the family loved it! I'm never making plain burgers again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
great alternative to the typical boring burger! i added a few things which is why i only gave it 4 starts, i deviated from the original recipe quite a bit. i added itialian bread crumbs, roasted red peppers drained, and a few sprigs of fresh oregano. my friend and her daughter over for supper loved them...and her daughter is only 3!!! i put these on toasted ciabatta rolls...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made these mouth-watering burgers and loved them. I did not have fresh basil...I used 80% lean HB and a different kind of cheese on top of each burger. I used the canned parmesan instead of grated.. probably would have been better... but they tasted great anyhow! next time I will try every ingredient to a tee just to see if they taste a wee better... great meal Sarah S.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logandale, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Be the Burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pops

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States