Caprese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I did this, but not on skewers, just in a bowl. Bad idea, because as it sat in some of the balsamic, the cheese turned brown. Wasn't as appealing to look at as I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Served this before dinner last night, and my guests were very complimentary. The recipe is very easy, so ease of preperation and enjoyment by the guests equals five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Like others, I added a little balsamic vinegar to the mix and served with extra balsamic on the side for drizzling. They were gone very fast. To me the keys are really fresh mozzarella, first rate olive oil, and well aged balsamic. I used 20 year old. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Super fast and easy to make for a large party. But flavor-wise, just O.K. It needs the extra flavor you can only get with a plated caprese salad with balsamic vinegar (which doesn't adhere to the mozzarella balls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shake'n'bake
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
So yummy. What a fun & easy way to do the delish combo of mozzarella, tomatoes, & basil. I couldn't stop eating these. And my family loved them. Even my picky little girl who "doesn't like cheese."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
For added flavor, rinse the tomatoes and roll in sea salt or other dry spices while they are still wet. The spices will stick to the skin and add that little bit of flavor. When you are finished assembling the skewers, stack in layers facing opposite directions (like a tic tac toe board) and drizzle lightly with balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These were simple and delicious. I marinated mine for a full day (the cheese with the herbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Temme
Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These are perfect appetizers which are easy for guests to eat and quick to make. I use marinated mozzarella balls that I cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I served these as an appetizer to my Thanksgiving meal. I followed the recipe but added a balsamic "glaze" by drizzling on it the platter prior to placing the tomato and mozzarella picks on top of it. The glaze I used is Acetaia del Casato Bertoni Crema which I purchased in Italy but there are balsamic glazes available at grocery/specialty stores here in the U.S. that are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Delicious! I threw all ingredients into a ziplock and let the flavors marry while I worked on a few other dishes. By the time I was done, they were ready to be stuck together. I used one package of grape tomatoes and two packages of ore packaged mozzarella balls. My husband and daughter do not like tomatoes but they loved the combination of the tasty 1:1 ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States