Cappuccino Flats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I made 31 (!) dozen of these cookies for Christmas Cookie exchanges. They have a wonderful, unusual taste and are so easy to make. Instead of dipping the cookie in chocolate, I drizzled on melted white chocolate--the contrast between the dark cookie and the light chocolate was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I think I'd cut down on the shortening in the chocolate mixture - it didn't seem to harden quite enough for easy storage - and I upped both the coffee and cinnamon because the dough seemed a bit bland. They turned out reasonabley tasty in the end, but not phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
If you like a cookie that is not too sweet, this is a great cookie. Yes, it looks like a fussy recipe, but it's not too much work. I usually mix the dough up one day, wrap it, and then bake it in the next few days when I have time. This is the same recipe in the Taste of Home "Best of Country Cookies" cookbook, a cookbook I will never part with, ever. You can vary the intensity of the coffee flavor by choosing either a dark or light roast instant coffee. I just made these for a cookie exchange and I used two packets from a box of Folgers Fresh Breaks, Black Silk (dark) single serve packets. The coffee flavor really comes through and will be made even better with a thin coat of chocolate. If you like a nice mocha, give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very tender and delicate with a good amount of flavor as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. I had to make a last minute substitution on the instant coffee as I was unknowingly out. I used 2 tbsp. of french vanilla Nescafe® iced coffee syrup and a teaspoon of finely crushed regular coffee. The next time I make it I probabably won't dip them in the chocolate - maybe just drizzle some white chocolate on. The chocolate coating overpowers the delicate, yummy cookie for me - I've been eating the chocolate half first so I can savory the plain side last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These cookies are amazing! Have made them several times, and they are always great. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, because I thought they needed a bit more flavor. They are always a hit, and eaten up as fast as I make them. You will love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been making these cookies for years and are a favorite in my family. A couple tips: the cookies are best if not over-cooked. Make sure to slice them a generous 1/4" thickness and bake them only until the edges have a slight firmness when touched. They will then cool to a light softness. Secondly, if making lots of cookies, you'll want to occasionally rewarm the dipping chocolate. This keeps the dipped coating from getting too thick and ovewhelming. I sometimes also dip just an edge in the chocolate, rather than half the cookie. This makes just a tease of milk chocolate. Lastly, I put the dipped cookies on wax paper and chill them for a bit before storing them. This keeps the dip from sticking when stacking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Good cookie. I used all margarine for the recipe (instead of shortening/butter) and served with vanilla ice cream. I did not drizzle chocolate on the top but thought they tasted just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
Delicious. Added more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg). Have also made using molasses instead of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Didn't care for this one at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States