Capidotada (Mexican Bread Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was a major crave for me through all 4 of my pregnancies the only difference is we used American cheese (tastes better). Capirotada gets 5 stars from me. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessarose69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is a long-traditional Spanish dish, with roots going back to at least the 1600's, and as such many variations have arisen over time. Both spellings appear to be acceptable, and virtually all recipes call for the cinnamon and cheese combination. It simply isn't capirotada without the cheese. Think apple pie with a slice of sharp cheddar on top -- wonderfully complimentary flavors! The ingredients used have strong religious symbolism, this being primarily a lenten dish. I made this recipe exactly as presented, and found it to be quite pleasing, as did the others in my family. Next time I will probably try using brown sugar instead of the less-historic refined white sugar. I might try using sliced almonds or walnuts. And I would try buttering the bread and oven toasting it, rather than frying. But I really enjoyed this exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I loved this recipe and it's so sad that this isn't getting better reviews! I am surprised by all the people saying that they just aren't in to the sweet/savory combo. It seems to me most people would know this about themselves before going ahead and making a recipe that will clearly have these qualities. seems like you might as well force feed young children a tuna broccoli casserole and then ask them to rate it. Anyways, I give it 5 stars because I LOVE sweet and savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Killion

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I understand that this version of capirotada is not for everyone, but it is exactly how my family has always made it. I love it and would change nothing, except how much cheese to use. The more cheese the better and it has to be medium cheddar cheese. My own kids never liked it, so I guess it is not for everyone. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
There are indeed many regional variations of this recipe. It is a Lenten dessert, and we fried the bread in a frying pan. No cheese, no onions, and we sprinkled "colaciones" on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
The cheese with the cinnamon just doesn't work for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Personally, I don't like it fut it's indeed full of flavor. FYI: It's capirotada, not capidotada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hosay Gzz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
The original recipe of this dessert does´n have onion and other rare ingredients such tomato and cilantro, because in my country this is a dessert not a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I'm thinking this is something you'll love if you grew up eating it. I knew it would be different than american bread pudding and was intrigued by the ingredients. Unfortunately, it wasn't well received by my family and no one will probably have seconds. Beth Wilder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Wilder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States