Capers and Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
"Capers and Halibut"--what an ordinary name for such an extraordinary dish! The pan roasted halibut becomes nicely golden brown and caramelized, while the sauce, although it includes no lemon juice, is inspired by that used in the classic Veal or Chicken Piccata. Simple to prepare, remarkably pretty presentation, with delicious results. I served this with rice, but a side of pasta with garlic and olive oil would also be a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Fantastic!! This was simple and delicious. I also made the "cheesy acorn squash" recipe from this site to go along with it and a nice white wine. My husband was in heaven! One thing... go easy on the caper juice-very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Prior to making this recipe, I was not a huge fan of fish. Now, I am! Everyone LOVED it! As a side dish, I made all recipe's "Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf". The dishes complimented each other very nicely. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Completely delicious. Took other posters' advice and cut down a bit on the butter, but sauce was still indescribably good (we had it tonight and it's already been requested again!). Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Just as stated, this is easy and delicious! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
fantastic..never cooked with capers before. The halibut was cooked in a teflon pan so no real brown bits, I'll try an iron pan next time. As the halibut was already cooked after the first bit I just mixed it in the sauce to warm it up and it came out great. No add ons or substitutes. If your weary about capers, dont add the full 3 tbsp, add only one tbsp, the caper liquid and cooking of them will add the taste that is required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Great recipe. I used tilapia because that's what I hada on hand and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
It was good, but don't add any salt. The capers make it a bit to salty already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I used cod with this and it was wonderful. I love capers and am always looking for ways to use them. Thanks so much Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This has way too much butter, and it doesn't need the extra salt. The capers have enough salt in them to carry the dish. Cut the butter in half. For two halibut steaks that is more than adequate. With those changes, easily a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States