Capers and Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Holy cow! I was so nervous because I bought some beautiful halibut steaks that were rather expensive. Based on my track record, it was likely that I'd overcook the fish and make a gross sauce. However, I followed this recipe precisely and it was divine. I'm talking nice-restaurant-status. The only thing I changed was minor: I doubled everything because I like bigger portions, but I only put 75% of the butter. The butter wasn't missed. Thank you, Barbara, for the delicious recipe. I'm even going to use it for the in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very tasty. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I've now made it twice. Last night I made it for one, and cutting down the recipe that much wouldn't have left me with enough sauce due to pan evaporation, so I didn't completely cut the liquid in half. I don't find anything bland about this recipe, however, I do make sure to season the fish before panfrying with a little salt and generous amount of fresh cracked pepper. Also, I think this yummy sauce would be good on many kinds of white fish and perhaps even chicken breasts. When I told a friend what I'd made for my supper he went, "That sounds like a meal for lovers." Was that a hint? lol I had it with sauteed zucchini and slices of heirloom tomato ... and a nice inexpensive sauv blanc. You just can't go wrong with this recipe, I don't think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
It will be 5 stars when I make it next time minus the brine from the capers. The saltiness was a bit overwhelming with all the brine so I'll add the capers only. Rather than the liquid from the jar, add a bit more wine to make the sauce. Otherwise, it was a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was simple to make and fabulous flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Fabulous. Absolutely fabulous just as written. 3 and 5 yr old approved, too. This is a gourmet restaurant dish yet so easy. Fantastic with long grain/wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
fantastic light meal! I followed recipe but did add lemon when i added butter, capers, etc! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!! A simple, yet outstanding sauce... I did make this with halibut, although I think it would work well with most types of fish. Thanks to Barbara for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
SO good, only added a tiny bit of lemon pepper, otherwise i followed exactly as written. couldnt get enough. definitely a great use for halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Absolutely scrumptious! So easy, and so very,very good. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States