Capers and Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Beautifully simple, this sauce is the perfect compliment to halibut! I had a bottle of Pinot Grigio on hand, so used that and it was wonderful. I added shallots (because I love onions) , and, just before serving, Italian parsley and scallions. I probably used extra butter and garlic too, but you only live once. ;) Capers and halibut are a great pair. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I live in Alaska, and we have a freezer full of halibut at any given time. We started using this recipe a couple of years ago, and haven't even tried anything else--because, why? This one is so good we've never had the desire to try anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Utah, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Easy to make and incredible to taste. It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I didn't have capers and had run out of margarine. To the wine, I added a little tomato basil dressing which added a different flavor, but was still great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I'm new to cooking fish so I had to look up a recipe. OH MY GOODNESS!! This is so delicious I can't seem to move on to anything else. I even love the way my house smells when it's cooking. I don't actually follow the recipe to the letter any more, I just use it as a basic guide. I pretty much use more of everything except caper juice and butter. The sauce is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very good. You have to like capers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe was quick and easy to make, and tasted great. I reduced the butter by 1/2, and will probably reduce it even more next time. This recipe would work great with any kind of mild flavored fish. Thanks for the recipe, Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
OMG but this is **GOOD** I've used it with sole, haddock, cod & halibut ... all were divine and unquestionably this the best white fish recipe I've had in my life. I've tweaked it a little bit - upping the garlic to 2 tsp, adding 1-1/2 Tbsp chopped fresh dill to the sauce, using only 'dry' capers and subsidizing dry sherry for the listed white wine. Matter of personal taste more than anything (I'm more partial to stronger flavors than many folks); the original recipe is a solid 5 star on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Delicious, light meal and easy to make! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Would not change a thing. Delic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States