Cape Cod Cocktail Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jazzyrobn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These meatballs are the best EVER! I've been making them for over 3 decades and they have always been a hit. Always the first appetizer to go! The vibrant color alone make it a perfect appetizer for the holidays. If I could, I would give them 10 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzyrobn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I really didn't like them. It was a disappointment as I took them to a buffet for Christmas. People said they were good tho'. I won't make them again. I did make them as written in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
These were great! I would never have thought to use canned cranberry sauce for a meatball sauce. Glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I thought these were fantastic and everyone at the party raved about them. The only changes I made were fewer bread crumbs-about 1/2-3/4 of a cup in the meatballs-always depends on the fat content of the meat; I did add the can of chopped pineapple to the sauce as another reviewer suggested and I think that is a great add-in for this recipe. I put the meatballs in the crock pot when they were done-about medium and I cooked the sauce longer on the stove-about med. heat for 10 mins. or so, stirring continuously. Then I poured the sauce over the meatballs in the crock pot and had them on low for about an hour before serving. These are going to be my go-to appetizer for work parties and other events like that. They are just a bit different so it's not the usual cocktail meatball. They taste great and are pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy G.
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made the meatballs larger so I could serve it as a supper and it was very good. Very moist meatballs, sauce just had a touch of sweetness and was very good served with rice. I would definitely do this as an appetizer at a party or potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great Recipe! Love the cranberry, much better than jelly that I've had in other cocktail meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is a good basic recipe that can be made much better by adding different spices especially Italian herbs and sausage in the meatballs. I also use the whole berry cranberry sauce by Ocean Spray. This was the Buzz Recipe Group selection for the last week of December, 2013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The recipe was good, but too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsrichardson27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a Recipe Group selection. I made these meatballs larger and served with white rice for dinner. I really liked the sauce and would give it a 5; I used whole berry sauce. However, my whole family thought the meatballs were rather bland and would give them a 3. So I'll call the total recipe a 4. Next time I would double the garlic powder and onion and add some salt and pepper to the meatball mixture. Someone else suggested half sausage, which would also be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Janet Shum
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These were very good! I definitely would make these again. They went quick! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States