Cape Breton 'Pork' Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love this recipe. They are my favorite Christmas treat. My Mom made these and I have always loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I always loved these little tarts and finally I can make my own. Thx so much for posting this recipe. They turned out amazing for my Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Good, but my icing turned out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
An excellent recipe. Quite a standard treat in this neck of the woods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
LOVE THEM!!! I use this recipe every year at Christmas for a special treat. I cook the filling in the microwave on high for 6 min (stir at 3). You may need to adjust the time according to your microwave This is a must for your "Try it list". I am sure it will quickly become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
When your not living in Cape Breton, every chance to eat something that is truely a Cape Breton Treat is a Treat. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe! Thank you to for bringing "CB" home! this Recipe is a perfect fit for my family. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
absolutely fabulous! and they are easier than they seem too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Delicios! I made the pastry by adding 6 oz. cream cheese. I cooked the dates with orange juice instead of water. The maple frosting adds a nice touch! I wonder if my ancestors had something like this due to our connection to Cape Breton, as found by word of mouth in genealogy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were absolutely fantastic. I took them to a work Christmas potluck, and everyone loved them. I was a little hesitant to bring them at first, because they look so odd, but everyone commented on how unique they were. They are a lot of work to make, but definitely worth it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States