Cape Breton 'Pork' Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I always loved these little tarts and finally I can make my own. Thx so much for posting this recipe. They turned out amazing for my Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Good, but my icing turned out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
An excellent recipe. Quite a standard treat in this neck of the woods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
LOVE THEM!!! I use this recipe every year at Christmas for a special treat. I cook the filling in the microwave on high for 6 min (stir at 3). You may need to adjust the time according to your microwave This is a must for your "Try it list". I am sure it will quickly become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
When your not living in Cape Breton, every chance to eat something that is truely a Cape Breton Treat is a Treat. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe! Thank you to for bringing "CB" home! this Recipe is a perfect fit for my family. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
absolutely fabulous! and they are easier than they seem too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Delicios! I made the pastry by adding 6 oz. cream cheese. I cooked the dates with orange juice instead of water. The maple frosting adds a nice touch! I wonder if my ancestors had something like this due to our connection to Cape Breton, as found by word of mouth in genealogy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were absolutely fantastic. I took them to a work Christmas potluck, and everyone loved them. I was a little hesitant to bring them at first, because they look so odd, but everyone commented on how unique they were. They are a lot of work to make, but definitely worth it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States