Cape Breton Blueberry Grunt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe! Made as directed except for butter instead of shortening and used an extra cup of blueberries because I needed to get rid of them. :) Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I thought I had just shy of 3 cups of blueberries. Because I was using a bigger casserole to bake it in, I decided I would add 1 1/2 of raspberries. Turns out, I had 1 7/8 cups of blueberries and 1 cup of Saskatoon berries. So, my blueberry grunt turned into blueberry/Saskatoon/raspberry grunt. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used less sugar because I did not have quite 3 cups of berries. However, I think you could have used 4 cups of berries in this recipe and still have had plenty of topping. I changed a few other things besides the reduction of sugar. I squeezed the juice of half a fresh lemon over the sugared berries and put the zest of that half lemon in there also. Then I put on the topping as directed. Oh and I used coconut oil in replacement for the shortening because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I told myself if this actually turned out well the way I made it, I'd write a review. So here I am. I kind of doubled the recipe (used up the rest of my 10 pounds of blueberries, about 5.5 cups, give or take a few moldy ones). Used coconut sugar instead of white sugar, and with my 5.5 cups of blueberries I used one cup of sugar total to sprinkle on top. It was plenty. Used 4 tbsp butter instead of shortening, and I accidentally melted it all the way instead of creaming it. Used sweetened original almond milk instead of regular milk, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I used a 9x13 pan instead of a casserole dish, and it all fit in fine without bubbling over or spilling. I have a convection oven so it baked at 325 F for about 32 minutes, and then I left it in the oven after I turned it off. It came out GREAT!!!! I didn't think the topping tasted bland, but my milk was slightly sweet, and coconut sugar tastes awesome. So maybe that made a big difference. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
A good receipe, but this is not a grunt. Grunts are cooked on top of the stove and the dumplings are steamed in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I used butter instead of shortening, added 1 T. vanilla and used 1/2 cup sugar on the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
i'm rating this even when I forgot to add the sugar to the blueberries. Our plump BC blueberries were so flavourful that the accidental omition worked out anyways. Super tasty with yummy fresh blueberries ( might need sugar with frozen store bought ones though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This dessert made me feel like June Cleaver. A true dessert from years gone by. Rustic and delicious. This is not a dessert to serve at a high end dinner party, but as a meal ender for close friends and family ... it cannot be beat. My husband said this was the best dessert I ever made. Very high praise for such a simple recipe. I will be making this again and again. I added the zest of one lime to the blueberries, increased to 1/4 teaspoon of salt, butter instead of shorting, and gave the batter a good sprinkling of sanding sugar to add a little texture and crunch. Don't forgo a big dollop of whip cream. It is essential to the look and taste of this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Oh wow. I made this with New Brunswick blueberries, which weren't very sweet this year, and reduced the first cup of sugar to 1/2 cup, and it was still AMAZING. Just the right sweetness. I also substituted butter in place of the shortening. If using sweeter blueberries, like those on the West Coast, I'd probably use 1/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love this recipe and usually double it--put in two casserole dishes. I love it as a dessert, but I particularly enjoy it as a side dish to scrambled eggs...or any kind of eggs: poached, soft boiled... in the morning--forget muffins; this is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States