Cantucci Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Don't try this recipe with the metric measures: 4cups flour and 2 of sugar DO NOT translate to 250 and 200 as given. I should've noticed this and the critical review below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I loved this recipe just the way it is, but the second and third time I made it, I changed various things and the base recipe stood up to all my fooling around beautifully. It's very important to really beat the sugar and egg mixture with an electric beater till the mixture is very airy, light and fluffy. In one version I added some melted butter to make the biscotti a bit less hard. In another version I didn't use the hazelnut liquor and used almond, vanilla and a touch of anise instead only with almonds, lots of them, chopped coarsely. In another version I also added some chocolate covered cherries which I chopped into quarters. The point is the base recipe is superb and strong enough to take a lot of innovation. Oh yes, and I found that beating one egg white with some sugar till it starts to thicken and turn white and brushing this over the uncooked loaves, makes a lovely crunchy sweet glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I wasn't a fan. I really missed the butter flavor that many other recipes provide. The flavor lacked depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
What went wrong? A very sticky, loose dough. Basically, I just plopped 2 globs on the cookie sheet and hoped for the best. They did come out looking pretty good and so I sliced and baked. I needed to do the 2nd bake for about 30 minutes, flipping them every 10 minutes. Some were still a little soft in the middle but I took them out anyway. When they cooled some were quite hard but they did taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed these cookies because they're on the hard side and crunchy. I think what makes this authentic and traditional is that the recipe doesn't include butter or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I have used this basic biscotti recipe for many years. Start with the first 4 ingredients, and let your imagination run wild......It will never fail you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Marlier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have made these delicious biscotti many times now. They are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
You might need a little extra flour as this dough can be sticky but the end product is wonderfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Don't follow the metric measures, they're totally wrong. Mine ended up too liquid to form a biscotti. The end result was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I fixed this for an Italian themed dinner party. It turned out great. I must admit I did not have hazelnut liqueur so substituted Orange liqueur. We dipped them in Franseca 10 yr aged tawny port. Enjoyed by all.Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States