Cantonese Style Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Cook this recipe 7 it 8 times already over the last few years! Love this recipe and have cravings for it every now and then. Since the sauce is good, I usually cook some Asian noodles ( boil in water then blanch in cold water) and mix with the sauce to soak up all the wonderful juices so that's lobster noodle dish or Chinese call it "yee mien" Imade this dish several times using singleness crab as well, also very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I had a Chinese grandma, too. This is definitely in the realm of authentic. In our family, the base flavor comes from Black Bean sauce instead of just soy. I think the flavors are more intense. I also use more garlic, more ginger, more pork and more egg. It stretches the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this for Easter Sunday for my husband and me. I followed the recipe exactly and we both just loved it. It reminded me of one of my favorite meals at a wonderful NY restaurant, Hankow's, that mom and I would go to at least once a month when I was growing up. Thanks for the memories and for this recipe, Alison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I had some leftover cooked lobsters in the fridge and was looking for a recipe that wasn't loaded with butter or heavy cream! So the only change I made to this recipe was to use pre-cooked lobsters instead of cooking the meat with the ginger. My boyfriend and I LOVED this and can't wait to make it again! Not only was it easy but it had AMAZING flavor! Definitely a must try! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Al
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just made it over the weekend and it was superb. A few tips to add to this recipe: Add more cooking time, say 6-7 minutes as my lobster came up just a little on the raw side - or cook it with pan covered. The skin of the lobster should turn bright red thoughout. I used vermouth instead of sherry, vegetable oil instead of peanut oil. Came out just fine. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCH
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I've now made this about 10 times. I've drifted from the recipe a few times, but the best taste comes from this recipe as is. Those who question sausage + lobster really have to just give this a try - it's worth the risk. Wanna spice it up - add some cajun seasoning or cayenne pepper...and a splash of hot sauce. Delicious with or without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This recipe is great!! I didn't have ground pork so I left it out and it still turned out flavorful. I did add some chopped cilantro leaves at the end of cooking just because we loved cilantro. Definitely a recipe to keep, thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! I wouldn't say that it's easy at all, I'd think that it should only be attempted by somebody who's pretty experienced in Asian cooking. But, I've been searching for it for years, all the "fine" Cantonese resturaunts serve it, but it's SO expensive. Thanks for listing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States