Cantonese Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Here are my suggestions: double the sauce and add 1-2 cans pineapple, 4 carrots and a red or green pepper. (green pepper can add a lot of its own flavor so don't overdo it, half a pepper will do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ISLANDGIRL05
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I made this tonight. Doubled the sauce. I also added a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks undrained. Only put in 2 tsp of salt (since doubled the recipe). I added some baby carrots, brocolli, red and yellow bell pepper strips and fresh mushrooms. Cooked everything for 4 hrs on high and it was done by dinner time. Quick and delicious! My toddler ate it up. I even had seconds. Thanks for a new addition to our dinner line up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I added strips of raw cabbage - I'm sure that bagged coleslaw mix would work just as well. As well, when browning the pork, I put in about 3 tbsp. of balsamic vinegar. It gave it a little sweetness and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This was average. Nothing more than a low-grade barbecue sauce. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and put them in frozen. Definitely need to add something to this to make this more savory. My husband liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This is a great recipe that can be made with things that you generally keep on hand in your pantry. I read most of the reviews, and made the following changes: doubled the sauce, added pineapple and carrots, and eliminated the mushrooms. The only change I would make is to use a little less brown sugar, as I thought the sauce was a little on the sweet side, but otherwise, a nice, easy recipe that's ready for you when you get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
i added green peppers in the beginning as well as hot chili oil, mirin, and cut the worchestershire in half and substitued soy sauce. another wonderful way to use the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
FIrst of all, we had had prok the night before and so I felt that we should have chicken or something else. So, I used this recipe to the 'T' except used sliced chicken breasts. When we sat down to dinner, my husband ---who does not like sweet and sour things--at all---said that this is definitely a 'keeper'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I think I brutalized the recipe but it appeared to still have turned out delicious. I didn't realize I had run out of tomato sauce, so I substituted with 2 oz tomato paste + 6 oz water + silent prayer. I also added broccoli, changed the onion bit to half an onion instead and added a handful or so of a frozen onion + green peppers + red peppers combination I had in the freezer. Everything played well together and I loved the results. I had been afraid that there might be a vinegary taste but it wasn't detectable at all. I'm almost afraid to try it with tomato sauce now! Cantonese? No. Yummy? Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
This was an interesting recipe. The sauce was very good, but my pork was a little dry and was actually shredding. I used the option to cook on low for 8 hours. I added a carrot cut into bite size pieces. If I make again I will try cooking on high for only four hours. I would also like to add a can of chunked pineapple for a more sweet and sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
wow this smelled wonderfull!!!!! I added some green pepper and I imagine that some pineapple would be great too!!!!!My 2 year old loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States