Cantonese Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
awsome base recipe...add to custom flavor. I added 2 teaspoons curry, 2 cloves garlic, 2 teaspoons hot chili sauce for just a lil kick along with the sweetness of 8 oz dice pinapple, brocalli, snap peas and carrots. yum-yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
oh yeah. doubled sauce (with balsamic vinegar), added a couple pounds of vegetables, including drained black beans, served over noodles, great one-pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend one night because I wasn't going to be home until late. He said it was awesome! I was hoping to try the leftovers but they were gone before I could! I used boneless ribs, cut into chunks, browned with a mix of veggie and sesame oils. I left out the mushrooms, so it was pretty much just pork and onions. According to my man it was great, so, five stars! Thanks for a great recipe! Update; made this again for some friends and it turned out well. The only change I made was to use fresh mushrooms instead of canned; I thought the dish was a bit salty, but otherwise the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Nobody enjoyed this dish. While the pork was tender the flavor was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was fine for a meal, but nothing amazing. I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Kinda blah. I made this recipe the way it was written just to try it as is but I ended up adding pepper flakes to it. That helped a little. I saw the part about the pineapple but did not know how that would go over. I used the remaining meat the next day mixed with bbq sauce and that was ok. I don't think I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
It was ok. I used pork tenderloin. For some reason the pork remained dry. The sauce was too watery as others have said. It smelled great and had a good flavor, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
with some alterations this has become a dinnertime favorite! So 4 stars for giving us a great recipe to work with. My changes: I brown the pork in a non-stick skillet, sprinkling with salt and pepper, then place in bottom of crock pot. Then in same the skillet used to brown the pork I place the onion (add a tiny bit of olive oil if needed) and 1 green bell pepper thinly sliced and saute for about a minute or two. Then I add these to the crock pot making sure to scrape out all the brown bits left over from pork and sauting (somtimes I add in a tablespoon of water to help loosen it up). Then I add in pineapple, leave out the mushrooms for us, make the sauce, pour it over everything and cook as normal. With these changes it's a hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I added strips of raw cabbage - I'm sure that bagged coleslaw mix would work just as well. As well, when browning the pork, I put in about 3 tbsp. of balsamic vinegar. It gave it a little sweetness and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
My family and I really enjoyed this simple through together recipe. It is nothing elaborate but that is what makes it so fun, one can make it so. For spicy add thai chilis, for hawiian add pineapple and grn. pepper, for italian add herbs i.e. rosemary/oregano/basil. It can be served atop any starch to fit ones 'through together' idea. I actually have made this both times ontop of the stove at a heat of medium low (simmer, covered, with the occasional stirring) in just a matter of 2 hrs and the meat just falls apart in your mouth. So even if one doesn't get it going before they start their day tender meat can still be achieved in just a few hours with not much other work. :o) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States