Cantonese Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I wish I would have doubled the sauce and added the pineapple and veggies mentioned in other reviews. Making this exactly as directed basically makes barbeque sauce (and not even a fantastic barbeque at that). I will try this again with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I found this dish to be very bland. I had to add a few other ingredients including pineapple, and some of the juice just to add flavor. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oologah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Got amazing reviews from my family. The boys all cleared their plates AND asked for more. There were no leftovers this night. I though it was good but that I had made better asian food before. All in all would mind throwing it together again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Deeee-lish. Okay, I was in a hurry and took partial advice from other readers. Used 2 bone-in chicken breast, 4 bone-in chicken thighs. Removed skin. Dumped in a dutch oven/pot: The chicken, one can of pineapples with juice, 2 cans of dice tomatoes, 1 sm. green peppar (diced), 1 onion (diced), doubled the brown sugar, doubled the vinegar, salt and bring it to boil. Simmer for 45 minutes and YUM. My hubby added hot peppar flakes to his to heat it up. Tasted like a gourmet sweet and sour. We served it over rice. Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kianush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Super flavorful, and a delicious balance of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Just finished the dishes on this and the Wife is off to the pizza take out for supper! If you like your pork mushy, go for it! No flavor at all! Lots of prep work for a whole lot of, well, something lacking. Lacking sweet, lacking salty, lacking a lot! Waste of time, food & electricity!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We loved this but agree it needs more sauce and some veggies. It was a nice blend of bbq which I like and sweet & sour which my husband likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is a "must-make" recipe. So easy to make, and my crockpot had it perfectly tender and juicy in just 3-hours (it smelled so good I couldn't wait until the 4th hour and had to taste -- it was done, and amazing!) For the pork, I used a package of thin pork cutlets (less than $2.00 for 5 cutlets), and sliced those thinly. I doubled the sauce as others had recommended because my family always wants extra sauce to spoon over rice. I omitted mushrooms to accommodate a family member preference, and added half a can of pineapple chunks, drained, as another reviewer had suggested. After 3 hours, the pork is fork-tender, the sauce is a perfect blend of sweet and tangy and a wonderful consistency, and my prep time was only about 15 minutes. This recipe is definitely a keeper! For those who try and the meat comes out dry, try doubling the sauce ingredients, and be sure to fry the pork strips first in hot oil on fairly high heat, until the pink is gone. This will seal in your juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
awsome base recipe...add to custom flavor. I added 2 teaspoons curry, 2 cloves garlic, 2 teaspoons hot chili sauce for just a lil kick along with the sweetness of 8 oz dice pinapple, brocalli, snap peas and carrots. yum-yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States