Cantonese Barbecued Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Followed recipe but omitted cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Wonderful flavor! I love this recipe! I roast it on wire cake-cooling racks in a foil-lined baking pan, rather than attempting the "hanging" method. It's hard to stop nibbling this roast, even after you're full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was really good! I had leftover meat so I diced it and made a soup. I sauteed 2 large minced garlic cloves, 1 med. onion diced, 1 inch piece of sliced fresh ginger, 1 minced Thai chili pepper, and I diced 1/2 orange pepper, 1 rib celery and 2 med. carrots. To the sauteed veggies, I added the pork, 4 C. chicken broth, and 1/2 tsp. fish sauce. I simmered this for 1/2 hour and served over noodles. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
this is by far the best home version recipe for bbq pork! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used to drive from Kingston to Montreal's China Town to buy this. I am thrilled to know that I can make it myself now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This came out very nice. ALMOST tasted like the real thing you get at your neighborhood Chinese restaurant. I didn't want to go through the mess with meat hooks, etc. so I just marinated this overnight and then packed tightly in a shallow baking dish. I kept some sauce on reserve and poured over the meat after 30 minutes of baking and turning the pieces over. Fifteen minutes later, I took it out and drained the excess sauce into a pan to reduce and then pour over the meat. I served this with broccoli slaw sauteed with sesame oil. Delicious! I will definitely be making this recipe again and saving myself some money by not ordering out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I grew up eating this, and I thought for a homemade version it was pretty good. Color is not the red vibrant color I am used to, so I did add a bit of food coloring in my marinade to brighten it up. It did come out much more like the real deal. Think I may cut back on the cinnamon a tad next time I make it though. Meat was very tender, thanks to the overnite marinating method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I tried this out with a few boneless country style ribs and that worked great. Next time I'll get a loin and cut it up so I have some to freeze. I went scant on the 5 spice and heavy on the sherry. I added about half a cup of water to the remainder of the marinade and boiled and reduced it back down so I could use it to drizzle on the meat. Leftovers will be chopped up and added into eggrolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Oh this so GOOD! It does taste like bbq pork you get from the Chinese store. I didn't have any Hoisin sauce, so I processed orange marmalade, fresh garlic cloves, sherry, a touch of soy sauce, as a substitute. I cooked it on the grill since it was already fired up. I would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe is really good. The flavor is abundant. I used white wine instead of sherry because I had none on hand. I cooked on wire rack on a cookie Sheet lined with parchment. Turned out perfect husband says this one is a keeper. I am unsure about using reserved marinade for basting, so next time I will keep some of the mix outside the meat for safety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States