Cantaloupe Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
served this for July 4th and everyone raved! This pie has such a unique flavor, just incredible. Bought melon 5 days prior and kept at room temp. was very ripe, sweet, and juicy. sqeezed some of the juice out and reserved. Pureed then measured, added back what was needed for 3cups. Used a wisk to cook and no lumps. Cannot imagine making this with margarine. used real butter(is there any other way w/baking such a special dessert pie?) Recipe didn't state when to add the butter in the filling; added it once I got the flour, starch, sugar wisked into the puree. didn't bother to temper the yolks, just whisked constantly and poured a small steady stream; worked fine. Added 1/2 tsp. orange blossom water to filling.this enhanced the cantaloupe flavor without overpowering and added a nice aspect. Cooked filling is the color of butterscotch and set up perfectly. The crust is fool-proof.looks dry when mixing, but even with overworking and patting into the pan, it was tender, made for a slighly sweet crust similar to a shortbread if made with butter! What everyone loved about this was that it was not sickening sweet. Each component of the pie was perfectly sweetened without being over the top sweet. I cannot wait to make this pie again. The whipped topping makes enough that you can pile it high. Beautiful presentation.Thx for this wonderful recipe that I will be making for years to come. Had multi-cultural guests and they all agreed that this was just incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I took a chance and made a triple batch (in a cookie sheet and made bars)of this for a Fourth of July party where there were a gathering of "Foodies". Everyone RAVED about its taste. They had no idea you could make cantaloupe into a pie. I followed the recipe exactly with these exceptions; I also used salted butter. In the instructions it forgets to say when to add the margarine so I added it along with the eggs. I would have used real whipped cream but the party was outside and was afraid it wouldn't hold up under the heat. I did decrease the amount of cool whip so I could taste the cream cheese a little stronger. I tasted the pie after 2 hours of chilling and then again in the morning. Even better in the morning! Very important that you use ripe tasty cantaloupe! Taste is mild and very refreshing! I'm serving this for a catered luncheon next week! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTMOMOF9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe - I'd never heard of cantaloupe pie before. I made it exactly as posted. It also sets up and cuts well, very pretty pie. And the topping is very flavorful. We ranked this up with our top "favorite" pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I made this pie exactly the way recipe states. My family just loved it. I served it frozen and it was a hit, very refreshing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This would not be the first pie I would choose to eat but it was quite good. It was easy to make and was very attractive. My melon was very sweet so I used just 3/4 cup sugar. A very good way to use extra cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is fantastic! And I've never made a cream pie of any sort. I did not add the margarine to the filling. This years' cantaloupe harvest required a little creativity in the kitchen. Delicious! My husband says its very refreshing ... definate keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This came out very good. I was out of milk and didn't realize it in time to go buy some more, so I didn't use it in the topping and it came out just fine, it was just a little tough to spread. Great cantaloupe flavor, very interesting dish, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
wow, this is great, I never knew you could make a pie from cantaloupe, I not a cantaloupe fan but this is really good. a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Overall good taste, I thought the topping was way too much so I cut in half. Very fun novelty pie. I felt the recipe used a lot of sugar, but I tried it again with less sugar and it wasn't as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Wow, what a hit this was! I replaced the Cantaloupe with Golden Sweet melons I had grown in my garden. When I first said what it was, no one was very enthused, but everyone was surprised by how good it was. This recipe is a real winner. To avoid trans fats I used real butter instead of margarine. I will certainly make this again. I want to try it with other types of melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States