Cantaloupe Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was great. It is one of my favorites. I have made it for Thanksgiving on request from family and I have passed this one on to both my sisters FABULOUS RECIPE THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very nice pie. My husband and I aren't real fans of a cream pie, but we had to use up several small bland melons from our garden, on the verge of going bad.. We both enjoyed a small slice, and I brought it to a church function where people finished it none the wiser as to the unusual ingredient. It was commented by one that the topping is a bit heavy, and since there is a generous amount anyway perhaps one could halve the cream cheese? No offensive or overtly "cantaloupe" flavor. To me it's the kind of thing that's quite delicious in a small dose, but not great the second time around. Especially good for gatherings, and it served my purpose well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This was easy and oh so tasty. Even one of the girls at work who does not like any kind of pie loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Wow, what a hit this was! I replaced the Cantaloupe with Golden Sweet melons I had grown in my garden. When I first said what it was, no one was very enthused, but everyone was surprised by how good it was. This recipe is a real winner. To avoid trans fats I used real butter instead of margarine. I will certainly make this again. I want to try it with other types of melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Overall good taste, I thought the topping was way too much so I cut in half. Very fun novelty pie. I felt the recipe used a lot of sugar, but I tried it again with less sugar and it wasn't as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
wow, this is great, I never knew you could make a pie from cantaloupe, I not a cantaloupe fan but this is really good. a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This came out very good. I was out of milk and didn't realize it in time to go buy some more, so I didn't use it in the topping and it came out just fine, it was just a little tough to spread. Great cantaloupe flavor, very interesting dish, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is fantastic! And I've never made a cream pie of any sort. I did not add the margarine to the filling. This years' cantaloupe harvest required a little creativity in the kitchen. Delicious! My husband says its very refreshing ... definate keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This would not be the first pie I would choose to eat but it was quite good. It was easy to make and was very attractive. My melon was very sweet so I used just 3/4 cup sugar. A very good way to use extra cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I made this pie exactly the way recipe states. My family just loved it. I served it frozen and it was a hit, very refreshing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Bohn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States