Cantaloupe Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I gave this one five stars. What a pleasant surprise. It has a light, not too sweet flavor. Very summery. Everyone that tried it just loved it. Will definitely make again. What a great new way to use cantaloupe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was good, but it was time consuming to make, and the end result was not necessarily more tasty than a good melon by itself. Maybe if I cut down on time by using a prepared crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'm only giving this 3 stars. While everybody liked it, they thought it was too sweet. It was definitely worth trying. Especially when wanting to use up some cantaloupe that is getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've never thought cantaloupe would taste so good in a pie! I followed the filling portion of the recipe, however for the topping I made a sort of light vanilla-y egg custard which I spread on top once the filling had set. This has just the right amount of sweetness and if you use margarine the saltiness of it makes a nice contrast. The crust was quite nice too. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is a very light pie- it is a great summertime treat. I made no modifications with the exception of using fat free whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is the type of recipe that you either like or you don't. I found it to be very rich and was only able to eat a small piece but my fiancee' ended up finishing it off. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginnybaby19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
No one in my family liked this pie...and we all love cantaloupe (and dessert too!). I thought the crust was very bland, the filling too sweet and the topping just too heavy for this pie. I made the recipe as directed, no changes on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
A few people liked the pie, but for the most part people thought it was too sweet. The consistency wasn't that great, but it was edible. I wouldn't recommend it unless you know people *love* cantaloupe. The only one person whom raved about this pie, was a pregnant woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eshtarra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I give this one a 5* for taste, but a 4* for direction. The filling was a bit too sweet to me, but no one else seemed to mind. My melon was also rather bland to begin with so I would cut the sugar back next time, especially if using a sweet, well-ripened melon. The cantaloupe taste came through well and the cream cheese topping complemented it quite nicely. I will admit to sneaking in a few drops of food coloring to compensate for my mediocre melon. It may have been my inexperience with cream pies, but the instructions didn't seem clear in a few places. They don't specify the type of sugar to use, and for the topping confectioners was the only kind that made sense to me so that is what I used. You will want to make sure the pie has set almost all the way before you try spreading on the topping or you will make a mess. Also, I mixed the topping about 15-20min too early and in the time it sat it managed to go from perfectly spreadable to a thick mass. I would definitely mix it up right when you intend to spread it on the pie instead of getting it done early. Other than minor construction mistakes, I thought this was a really nice pie. It was very light and refreshing, not to mention unique! I will be making this again, tweaking only lightly, and I will wait until I have a good, sweet melon. Oh, and my melon made about 4 1/2 cups of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was great. It is one of my favorites. I have made it for Thanksgiving on request from family and I have passed this one on to both my sisters FABULOUS RECIPE THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States