Cantaloupe Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I took a chance and made a triple batch (in a cookie sheet and made bars)of this for a Fourth of July party where there were a gathering of "Foodies". Everyone RAVED about its taste. They had no idea you could make cantaloupe into a pie. I followed the recipe exactly with these exceptions; I also used salted butter. In the instructions it forgets to say when to add the margarine so I added it along with the eggs. I would have used real whipped cream but the party was outside and was afraid it wouldn't hold up under the heat. I did decrease the amount of cool whip so I could taste the cream cheese a little stronger. I tasted the pie after 2 hours of chilling and then again in the morning. Even better in the morning! Very important that you use ripe tasty cantaloupe! Taste is mild and very refreshing! I'm serving this for a catered luncheon next week! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
served this for July 4th and everyone raved! This pie has such a unique flavor, just incredible. Bought melon 5 days prior and kept at room temp. was very ripe, sweet, and juicy. sqeezed some of the juice out and reserved. Pureed then measured, added back what was needed for 3cups. Used a wisk to cook and no lumps. Cannot imagine making this with margarine. used real butter(is there any other way w/baking such a special dessert pie?) Recipe didn't state when to add the butter in the filling; added it once I got the flour, starch, sugar wisked into the puree. didn't bother to temper the yolks, just whisked constantly and poured a small steady stream; worked fine. Added 1/2 tsp. orange blossom water to filling.this enhanced the cantaloupe flavor without overpowering and added a nice aspect. Cooked filling is the color of butterscotch and set up perfectly. The crust is fool-proof.looks dry when mixing, but even with overworking and patting into the pan, it was tender, made for a slighly sweet crust similar to a shortbread if made with butter! What everyone loved about this was that it was not sickening sweet. Each component of the pie was perfectly sweetened without being over the top sweet. I cannot wait to make this pie again. The whipped topping makes enough that you can pile it high. Beautiful presentation.Thx for this wonderful recipe that I will be making for years to come. Had multi-cultural guests and they all agreed that this was just incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
No one in my family liked this pie...and we all love cantaloupe (and dessert too!). I thought the crust was very bland, the filling too sweet and the topping just too heavy for this pie. I made the recipe as directed, no changes on my part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I give this one a 5* for taste, but a 4* for direction. The filling was a bit too sweet to me, but no one else seemed to mind. My melon was also rather bland to begin with so I would cut the sugar back next time, especially if using a sweet, well-ripened melon. The cantaloupe taste came through well and the cream cheese topping complemented it quite nicely. I will admit to sneaking in a few drops of food coloring to compensate for my mediocre melon. It may have been my inexperience with cream pies, but the instructions didn't seem clear in a few places. They don't specify the type of sugar to use, and for the topping confectioners was the only kind that made sense to me so that is what I used. You will want to make sure the pie has set almost all the way before you try spreading on the topping or you will make a mess. Also, I mixed the topping about 15-20min too early and in the time it sat it managed to go from perfectly spreadable to a thick mass. I would definitely mix it up right when you intend to spread it on the pie instead of getting it done early. Other than minor construction mistakes, I thought this was a really nice pie. It was very light and refreshing, not to mention unique! I will be making this again, tweaking only lightly, and I will wait until I have a good, sweet melon. Oh, and my melon made about 4 1/2 cups of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
A few people liked the pie, but for the most part people thought it was too sweet. The consistency wasn't that great, but it was edible. I wouldn't recommend it unless you know people *love* cantaloupe. The only one person whom raved about this pie, was a pregnant woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eshtarra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Very nice pie. My husband and I aren't real fans of a cream pie, but we had to use up several small bland melons from our garden, on the verge of going bad.. We both enjoyed a small slice, and I brought it to a church function where people finished it none the wiser as to the unusual ingredient. It was commented by one that the topping is a bit heavy, and since there is a generous amount anyway perhaps one could halve the cream cheese? No offensive or overtly "cantaloupe" flavor. To me it's the kind of thing that's quite delicious in a small dose, but not great the second time around. Especially good for gatherings, and it served my purpose well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was great. It is one of my favorites. I have made it for Thanksgiving on request from family and I have passed this one on to both my sisters FABULOUS RECIPE THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is a very light pie- it is a great summertime treat. I made no modifications with the exception of using fat free whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Wow, what a hit this was! I replaced the Cantaloupe with Golden Sweet melons I had grown in my garden. When I first said what it was, no one was very enthused, but everyone was surprised by how good it was. This recipe is a real winner. To avoid trans fats I used real butter instead of margarine. I will certainly make this again. I want to try it with other types of melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This would not be the first pie I would choose to eat but it was quite good. It was easy to make and was very attractive. My melon was very sweet so I used just 3/4 cup sugar. A very good way to use extra cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States