Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
My husband says this is the best thing he has ever put in his mouth! Everyone who tastes this recipe loves it! Do not reduce this recipe. When you try it, you will wish you had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I was very nervous about trying this recipie. But i'm very glad I did. It is very moist and delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
i did not like the results, but my husband and co workers did. there wasn't any "cantelope taste" it was more like pumpkin bread. if i make again i will leave off the praline glaze and put the nuts in the bread itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This is a copy of Marlen's cantaloupe bread recipe she has shared several times but never with the praline topping. That doesn't go with this bread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This bread was great and really moist. I was apprehensive to make because of the odd use of cantaloupe, but I was so glad that I did. It was excellent. I did as another suggested and just added the pecans to the batter and skipped making the glaze. I made mini loaves of this bread for a bake sale at work and everyone who bought it loved it. I even surprised my husband, who hates cantaloupe, but loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
It turned out sooo well. my hubby loved it. it was soooo moist..and the cinnamon blended very well with it. i will definately make it again. it is very sweet without the glaze...so i am glad that i didn't add it. next time i would put the nuts inside. i didn't use nuts this time..i didn't have any. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
You can't even taste the cantelpoe. It just make really moist great bread. I added the nuts to the batter per another review and it was fantastic. You turned four sceptics into fans! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a wonderful moist bread that kept well for days. I was really surprised that it didn't taste like cantaloupe. Not weird at all. It was wonderful and my family loved it. I mixed the nuts in the bread as someone else suggested and instead of the icing on top and put a brown sugar and water glaze. That turned out great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I was searching for a recipe to use up some canteloupe. Came across this one and although it sounded weird, I gave it a try. I made half of the recipe - just in case. I went with some of the other suggestions and left out the glaze, adding walnuts to the batter. What a pleasant surprise! Didn't tell my fiancee what it was until I got the thumbs up. He was surprised but ate it up! Now I wish I had made the whole recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This bread was excellent. Very easy to make and a good way to use up cantaloupe that has overripened. I made some modifications to "healthy" it up. I discarded 2 of the egg yolks, replaced 1/2 of the oil with plain non-fat yogurt, replaced one of the cups of flour with wheat flour, and used 1 1/2 c. of sugar instead of 2 c. I added walnuts also because I love walnuts. I did not make a praline glaze for the bread. I think it still turned out excellent with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States