Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this last night without the glaze. We loved it. My cantaloupe was the sweetest I've ever had, so I probably could have cut the sugar, but this is definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
We loved this! Who would have thought you could make bread out of cantaloupe? Well, I guess there IS zucchini bread! I did change a few things. We did not like the praline glaze, in fact we scraped it off, so did the kids. The second time I made it I added more nutmeg, about 3/4 of a teaspoon more and a little more ginger. The original recipe calls for two bread pans, but I found the loaves to be a bit short. So the second time I doubled the recipe put it in three pans. Excellent! Good thing I had a bumper crop of cantaloupe, I've been freezing it all week so we can have this yummy bread all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Have made this with cantaloupe, peaches and pears. All are wounderful. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is a wonderful bread. Everyone has just loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This bread was surprisingly good. I had a cantaloupe left over before heading out on holiday, so decided to puree it and give this recipe a go when I returned. I followed the advice of several members and did not make the glaze but added the pecans to the recipe. I also left out the oil and replaced it with additional cantaloupe puree. And, for the sugar, I did half sugar, half Splenda. The bread is yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I would have given this five stars but the glaze was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Awesome bread! Who knew that cantaloupe bread would be good? And who knew that there was such a thing as cantaloupe bread!!! I did what one of the others suggested and used 1/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. applesauce. Didn't notice a difference at all. In fact, next time I think I'll use all applesauce. I also used egg beaters instead of eggs and that turned out fine as well. Thanks for the recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Hmmm...not sure about the flavor...yet. It's not that I don't like it but I'm not sure if I do either. Putting some butter on a slice, it was good. I think it needs more spice to it or be sweeter..not sure. I'll tweek the recipe the next time and spice it up a bit to my likings. It IS a very moist bread. I will definitely try again because it seems that,like bananas, I always have some cantaloupe that I need to use up every now and then and this is such a good idea. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
WITH SOME EXCEPTIONS TO INSTURCTIONS THIS IS WAY FAR BETTER THAN ANY BREAD I HAVE MADE. I CAME FACE TO FACE WITH 200+ CANTALOUPE AND HAD TO DO SOMETHING. TO CHANGE THE RECIPE-1. I SKIPPED THE GLAZE AND PUT THE NUTS IN THE BREAD. 2. I PUT WAX PAPER IN THE BOTTOM SO IT WOULD COME OUT MORE EASILY. OTHER THAN THAT, IT'S GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Bread liked by adults and children. Did not do praline glaze and reduced sugar by 25%. I have made the recipe twice and will make again. Perfect way to use up those not quite ripe cantaloupes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States