Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very refreshing taste and something different for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great, unique, but will probably lessen the amount of cinnamon next time. That much made it taste too close to banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Easy and tastes great. It is sweet with a subtle flavor of canteloupe. I would make the glaze after the bread comes out of the oven rather than while it is baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Not bad, but not fantastic either. Like others have mentioned it didn't really have any kind of cantaloupey taste, instead it tasted more like a spice bread. Albeit a good spice bread, but I was looking for a cantaloupe flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad_Batter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moyock, North Carolina, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Pretty good. I added extra cantaloupe and didn't use the praline glaze. It was sweet enough without it. The bread is very moist and has a cake-like texture. It reminds me of pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
So I guess I can't really give this all 5 stars because I didn't put the praline glaze on, but the bread alone deserves 5 stars! What a great way to use up my over-ripe cantaloupe! Everyone LOVES this bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This turned out fabulous! I didn't have any vegetable oil on hand, so I took someone else's advice and replaced it with an additional cup of canteloupe puree. Also, I only had one loaf pan, so I made one loaf and the rest muffins. The muffins took about 30 min, and turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I couldn't decide if I liked this bread or not.It was very moist but I just wasn't wild about the flavor.My mom really liked it and said it reminded her of pumpkin bread.I did leave the glaze off because I thought it would make it way too sweet.It was fun to try it but it's just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
unbelievable!! I was so hesitant about making this recipe- I mean "cantaloupe" in a bread. I am so glad I had second thoughts. Other reviewers were right on saying that it was somewhat like a pumpkin bread. I did cut the sugar in half and added raisins to my batter and it was plenty sweet and absolutely delicious! I also left the glaze out, but this was just amazing. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very good and different. I'd never heard of cantaloupe bread before so I had to try it. I had 1/2 of a smaller melon and got about one cup of puree, so I just made one loaf but used 2 eggs. The glaze didn't need 3 minutes in the microwave, only about 1 1/2. Very, very moist bread. Subtle flavors but I was pretty pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States