Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
As strange as this sounds, this may be the best quick bread I've ever made. It comes out moist, dense and tastes amazing. I followed others suggestions and did not make the glaze but otherwise, followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I found this way too sweet with the glaze and I cut the sugar by half. I made 24 muffins instead of loaves one batch w/glaze and one without. The batch without the glaze was very good, but still a little sweet for my taste so I would cut the sugar a bit more next time. Great way to use up cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Excellent way to use up ripe cantaloupe. I didn't use the glaze because the bread is sweet enough. My friend said it could use some nuts, so next time I will put the nuts is the bread. I swirled a cinnamon sugar swirl through the bread before baking, that is where I will add the nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
like other readers I wasnt sure about this recipe, but I had some cantelope going bad and needed to use it. Boy am I glad I tried this. It was wonderful. Will definitely make this again. i didnt make the glaze though, just the bread by itself was delicious and I dont need the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this with papaya puree, not cantaloupe. I figured they were both melons, and papayas are so inexpensive at the market right now, I wanted another way to use it. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to make this a little more healthy, sub'd applesauce for half the oil, whole wheat flour for half the AP flour, and Splenda for half the sugar. I also didn't make the Praline Glaze, this was sweet enough all by itself. It was a little dense at the bottom of the loaf, so the next time I made it, I doubled my soda and powder and increased my oven temp to 375. Yum! I've even made these as gifts, they're so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
AMAZING! I'm not a huge fan of loaves, but this was so moist and SO tasty! I left out the glaze, but made everything else exactly as it says. Thanks for helping me use up my cantaloupe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Anderson
Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
After reading reviews, I cut oil to 1/2 cup, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups, increased pureed cantaloupe to 2.5 cups, exchanged vanilla extract with lemon extract, added about 1 tsp orange zest, 1 tsp lemon zest and 2 tbsp poppyseeds just for fun. Skipped icing. Bake in bundt pan for about an hour. Really moist cake, interesting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Our whole family loves this recipe. The most time consuming part is getting the cantaloupe ready. I was able to get 6 cups of puree from one cantaloupe, so I divided and froze what I didn't need. This bread does not taste like cantaloupe - it is more like a spice bread or pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
VERY moist, and a wonderful solution to having too much cantaloupe on hand or a cantaloupe that's a little too ripe. You can almost not notice the flavor of the cantaloupe in the bread, but it adds a very mild, aromatic flavor that is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
best bread I've made in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States