Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I had bought a rather large cantaloupe from the farmer's market. It was only so-so and I was having a hard time eating all by myself since my children didn't care for it. I am so glad I found this recipe! I was also pleased to learn, from the reviews, that pureed cantaloupe is like applesauce in that you can use it to reduce the amount of oil in a sweet recipe. So, I added a half cup more cantaloupe and used that much less oil. Turned out great! The children devoured this bread and were bummed when it was all gone! I think I'll have to plant some cantaloupe next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I didn't use the glaze, but the loaf was wonderful ! I'd make again in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Quite disappointed.I was excited to try this and followed the recipe exactly, figuring I wanted to first start from there to determine if I liked it and then determine how I might or might not want to modify it. Now that I've made it I don't think it's worth modifying because I have so many really good recipes for other breads that it seemed silly to work on modifying this one to make it taste like one of the great ones I already have! On the plus side, this bread has a very nice texture and is very moist. The problem is that it is very nondescript -- it has no real "character"of its own. Some reviews said it tastes like banana or pumpkin bread -- not so! Those breads are amazing and each has a unique character of its own. But this bread offers nothing special. It IS good for using up cantaloupe, but then we don't need this recipe to accomplish that, since cantaloupe can be used in the same way as applesauce in a wide variety of breads. Sorry, but this one's not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Moist without overpowering cantaloupe flavor, baked in a bundt pan 55 minutes @ 325. Didn't make the glaze, but otherwise followed recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Omit the glaze. The recipe fits in one 9x5 bread pan and two smaller aluminum bread pans. The consensus is the bread is better with chopped pecans in it. Use very ripe cantaloupe. I told everyone that it was pumpkin bread until they agreed that they liked it then I told them the truth. Many agreed that they wouldn't have tried cantaloupe bread. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great for using up a bunch of over-ripe melon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
People think you're crazy when you say cantaloupe bread....Until they see & taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a57chevygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Curious flavor and recipe, it was nice to do something with my huge cantaloupe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
FYI: I am reviewing the bread without the glaze (nut allergy). This bread is so moist, sweet, and delicious! We have a new family favorite now. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I really, REALLY don't like cantaloupe so I was very hesitant to try this. The kids really liked it and it tastes more of a spice cake than cantaloupe. I figured with the amount of oil and eggs that the praline glaze was just a extra calories and omitted it. No one missed it as the bread was moist enough. I took it to work and played a guessing game--no one guessed. I didn't have ground ginger, so I used all spice and nutmeg...I also increased the cinnamon by a tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States