Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by FoodieGeek
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for something to use up some cantaloupe. I have to say I was skeptical at first. I had never heard of making bread w/ cantaloupe before, but I'm so glad I tried. It is surprisingly good. I didn't make the glaze, and I don't think it really needs it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This bread was delicious and it was a HUGE HIT at the "Big Football Game With A Copyrighted Name" party I went to. I'm not a fan of cantaloupe, but I love this. I modified the recipe a bit to make it lower calorie and a little healthier. Here's The ingredient list I used: - 2 eggs - 2 egg whites - 1/4 C vegetable oil - 3/4 C unsweetened applesauce - 1 C Sugar - 1 C splenda - 2 C bread flour - 1 C Whole Wheat Pastry Flour - rest of the ingredients as written Instead of the glaze, I mixed some white sugar and powdered sugar and dusted it on the top while the bread was still a little warm. The bread froze well, too. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I happily sliced into a cantaloupe, and popped a chunk in my mouth. Turned out to be the most miserable, unripened melon ever! So I made this bread. I haven't topped it yet, but it is delicious as it is. It is moist and tasty and I would have otherwise thrown out the melon:) My modifications were to use 3/4 cup Smart Balance spread, (slightly softened) and only 1/4 cup oil. Because of the lack of sweetness in the cantaloupe I increased the sugar about 1/3 cup. I toned the ginger down to 1/4t. I am thrilled with the result. It's a do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This bread has great texture...nice crispy top and moist inside. Only problem is there pretty much is very little flavor. I skipped the glaze on top and put nuts in the batter, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I wonder what it would taste like if you replaced all the oil with more pureed cantaloupe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
yummy! i made this using splenda instead of white sugar for the bread. and i used cinnamon applesauce instead of the oil. it's soooo good and made the house smell great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Amazing! Moist and spicy, and a hit with coworkers and kids alike. It doesn't even need the praline glaze. I followed other reviews and reduced the fat: 1/4 c. oil, 1/4 c. applesauce, 1/2 c. extra pureed cantaloupe. I will never worry again about too much or too ripe cantaloupe! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was surprisingly good for what it is, although I still prefer banana nut bread. I'd never heard of cantaloupe bread before, but I had some cantaloupe sitting around and thought I'd try it out. I halved the recipe to make one loaf and it came out pretty small using about half the pan. I skipped the glaze, and made the following changes: replaced half the sugar with splenda, replaced half the oil with no sugar added granny smith apple sauce, added 1 tbsp sugar free orange syrup, added pecans to the batter, and a bit of shredded coconut. It really doesn't taste much like cantaloupe and I was glad for that. It's definitely super moist too. I topped my slice with strawberries and a squirt of whipped cream and it was very refreshing. Didn't need the glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This bread is very moist and has a nice cripsy/sweet crust... without the glaze. Instead of using 1 cup of oil, I used an additional cup of cantaloupe. For all my sweet baking, I always substitute applesauce for oil. Now I know I can use cantaloupe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Excellent bread, even without the praline glaze. Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
A nice way to use of end-of-the-summer cantaloupe. I halved the recipe to make one loaf, and even then reduced the oil considerably (you could probably even sub applesauce in place of the oil, or do 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil). The glaze on this is really nice and adds an extra crunch. Reminds one of a pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States