Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This bread has great texture...nice crispy top and moist inside. Only problem is there pretty much is very little flavor. I skipped the glaze on top and put nuts in the batter, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I wonder what it would taste like if you replaced all the oil with more pureed cantaloupe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
yummy! i made this using splenda instead of white sugar for the bread. and i used cinnamon applesauce instead of the oil. it's soooo good and made the house smell great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Amazing! Moist and spicy, and a hit with coworkers and kids alike. It doesn't even need the praline glaze. I followed other reviews and reduced the fat: 1/4 c. oil, 1/4 c. applesauce, 1/2 c. extra pureed cantaloupe. I will never worry again about too much or too ripe cantaloupe! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was surprisingly good for what it is, although I still prefer banana nut bread. I'd never heard of cantaloupe bread before, but I had some cantaloupe sitting around and thought I'd try it out. I halved the recipe to make one loaf and it came out pretty small using about half the pan. I skipped the glaze, and made the following changes: replaced half the sugar with splenda, replaced half the oil with no sugar added granny smith apple sauce, added 1 tbsp sugar free orange syrup, added pecans to the batter, and a bit of shredded coconut. It really doesn't taste much like cantaloupe and I was glad for that. It's definitely super moist too. I topped my slice with strawberries and a squirt of whipped cream and it was very refreshing. Didn't need the glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This bread is very moist and has a nice cripsy/sweet crust... without the glaze. Instead of using 1 cup of oil, I used an additional cup of cantaloupe. For all my sweet baking, I always substitute applesauce for oil. Now I know I can use cantaloupe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Excellent bread, even without the praline glaze. Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
A nice way to use of end-of-the-summer cantaloupe. I halved the recipe to make one loaf, and even then reduced the oil considerably (you could probably even sub applesauce in place of the oil, or do 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil). The glaze on this is really nice and adds an extra crunch. Reminds one of a pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
A great, very moist recipe. Not much cantaloupe flavor but a really good loaf/muffin. I think it'll be fabulous toasted. My changes: - Reduced the sugar by 1/3 and didn't use the glaze (my cantaloupe was very sweet) - Added a splash of orange juice - Substituted 1/3 of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour - Replaced half the fat with pureed apples. These changes will create a product that will take longer to cook (>1 hr) but is very moist and flavorful while being lower fat, lower sugar, and higher fiber (usually the death knoll for baked goods). Note: A large cantaloupe makes 3.5x this serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
giving this an extra star for a great way to use up cantaloupe, and I like the fact that as you stated, Linda, it can be pureed and frozen for later use. My cantaloupe was very sweet and ripe and with 2 cups sugar, I didn't do the glaze. The cataloupe taste is mild. Omitted cinnamon from the batter and instead sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture into my sprayed pans before adding the batter. only 1 tsp. of vanilla and added orange blossom water instead, as I have found that this enhances the flavor of cataloupe. Used 3/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil and it is very moist. Added the zest of one lime to the batter to give it a little more zing. this made 2 nice loaves and I also made a small muffin to sample and review. Easy recipe to throw together. Next time I might add 1/4 tsp. more of salt to help enhance the cataloupe flavor. It was nice to get an occasional small sliver of cataloupe. I think I might puree 1 cup and leave one more cup of it a bit on the chunkier side. Thanks for the great, easy, waste-not, want-not recipe, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was looking for a way to use up some cantalope that has been in my fridge. I stumbled across this recipe. An figured I would give it a try. 3 words "Oh My God". this is such an incredible bread. I didn't use the glaze and instead of flouring the pan I sugared it instead. If you haven't tried this yet give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States