Cantaloupe Berry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Excellent flavor! I really like this combination but I couldn't get it to blend without milk (or liquid of some sort). I added 1/4 cup milk PER serving and it was SOOOOOO good! Now if someone can tell me how to get the seeds out it would be a hit with my kids! Maybe next time I will try blending the raspberries first with the milk and then putting them through a strainer. This one is a keeper - I found cantaloupe out of season; just chop into smaller pieces and blend longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was a good smoothie with a unique taste! Cantaloupe was on sale, so I gave it a try... I used strawberries instead of raspberries and vanilla yogurt vs. plain. Like others, I had to add a bit of half and half to get it to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the recipe, but I didn't have any raspberries (or any other berries) so I just used the cantaloupe, yogurt, and sugar, and then added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. My daughter and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
A unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Really good! The kids all loved it, and asked for more. Had frozen raspberries, so it made it thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I think this is only as good as your cantaloupe is juicy and sweet - mine wasn't all that great. To compensate I tossed in more raspberries (frozen) than called for and used peach rather than plain yogurt. Left out the sugar at Hubs' request and he was happy with the result. On the positive side of using not so juicy and sweet cantaloupe, however, I didn't experience the smoothie being watery as others reported. In fact, I had to add a little half-and-half to get the blender going. I'm not a big smoothie fan; I make these particularly for Hubs, but I found this lighter, more refreshing than others, most likely due to the mildness of the cantaloupe. Given my cantaloupe's rather bland condition, this was a great way to use it to its best advantage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I loved this! I ended up using frozen raspberries and vanilla yogurt because that's what I had, so I didn't add the sugar. Plenty sweet without it. I also had to add a shot of orange juice to get things going in the blender - it was very thick, and added an orange umbrella to make myself feel special. Excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I was worried about the cantaloupe being a little too sweet so I made the recipe without the sugar, then taste-tasted it. The cantaloupe I used was sweet enough so I didn't need the additional sugar. This doubled well for four servings but it wasn't near enough for four people. The combination of the cantaloupe and raspberries was wonderful. I agree with Scotdog that it could use a little vanilla flavoring or vanilla yogurt, like she used. Next time, I'd like to try to make these into frozen yogurt pops--I think that would be heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I love cantaloupe in smoothies, but I always use frozen fruit. I subbed strawberries for the raspberries and vanilla yogurt for the plain. I left out the sugar. Since my fruit was frozen, I had to add some skim milk to get it mixed. I like my smoothies the consistency of thick milkshakes. The cantaloupe adds a lightness that I love, especially starting with a good sweet cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very yummy! I used frozen raspberries and also a handful of ice cubes because my husband and I like thick smoothies. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States