Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I made these for my dad who recently had a triple-bypass and needs to watch his fat intake. He loved them because he hadn't had sweets in a while, but I think next time I will use applesauce or mashed bananas in place of the prunes....to me, they tasted like a giant squishy raisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Taste is good although the serving size is tiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I made these yesterday and they are absolutley to die for, everyone in the family didnt quite believe that they were low fat. I used applesauce instead of the prunes and also added the baking powder people suggested. I was gonna throw in a hand full of walnuts but that would kinda defete the purpose, didnt need them anyway. These will be made time and time again in this household....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This is now my "dieter's chocolate fix" brownie recipe. People who aren't even on diets (and are also always brutally honest about my cooking) can't tell they're low fat, as the name implies. Sometimes I add chocolate chips, but that's cheating isn't it? I use real sugar, and I add 1/2 tsp of baking powder to give them some lift & they're wonderful. Contrary to a previous review, I've kept mine for a week before in a tupperware container on the countertop & they were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
unfortunately, they didn't taste like brownies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I altered this recipe with Splenda, 1/2 substitute egg with 1 real egg, 1 cup vanilla fat-free yogurt and extra cocoa powder. The trick is to avoid overcooking. Cut down on cooking time by 3 minutes. These alterations cut out more carbs and fat, so the brownies are more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
OK, these were all right. At first I thought they were really good but they got all moldy and watery after only a few days. Very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I reallllllly wanted this to taste good, but it was just a disappointment. The texture was perfect (after adding 1 tsp. baking powder), but the flavor was the pits. Even with a little extra cocoa, it still didn't taste chocolatey at all and had a strange, stinky taste. Perhaps applesauce would've worked better than pureed prunes. I'll try that next time. In the meantime, I'll make a chocolate frosting to doctor these brownies up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
While better for you than regular brownies... these had a distinct prune taste that I could not get over. Don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I really like these! I also followed the recommendations in the reviews... 7T of cocoa powder, 1/4 c. wheat and 1/4 c. white flour, however, I wanted to lower the cholestrol so I removed the yolks of both eggs. I also didn't have the prunes or applesauce on hand so I used canned pumpkin instead. They turned out really nice and moist with a good texture and flavor. The only change I may make next time is to add even more cocoa. Great low fat recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States