Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I joined just to rate this recipe! These are GREAT! The only variation I made to this recipe was to use Hershey's dark cocoa powder, so they were really chocolatey. These are excellant when your trying to maintain a healthy diet yet desperatly need a chocolate fix! Trust me you truly can not tell these are low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
These aren't bad for low fat. You can taste the cocoa powder and I will admit they aren't as good as regular fattening brownies, but these are great to get you through your chocolate cravings while watching your weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
They were OK. The flavor was a little odd though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were okay. My husband thought they tasted like chocolate crepes; said he could taste the eggs. I used half sugar and half splenda. I also used one 2.5 ounce jar of baby prunes and one 2 ounce jar of baby apples because that was what I had on hand. I ended up using these to make a trifle with chocolate pudding and cool whip. They were much better in that context!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Very tasty for a low fat brownie. They came out somewhat flat looking but still tasted VG & were very easy to cut. I used applesauce instead of prunes, & added 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also substituted the 1 c of white sugar with 1/2 c Splenda Sugar Blend For Baking & increased the vanilla to 1 tsp & chocolate to 7 TB. Lastly, I used 1 egg & 1/4 c egg sub & Enova oil. Baked for 24 minutes. Would make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
WOWZER... these are GREAT. I used mashed bananas and although we could taste the fuit a little, they still are delish, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These are a great low fat version of brownies. I used olive oil in place of veg. oil and also used applesauce in place of prunes. Before I put them in the oven I drizzled them with fat free caramel. They were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I only baked for 20 minutes because I am not a big fan of cake-like brownies. These were really good. I substituted applesauce for the prunes (what I had on hand) and splenda for the sugar. My husband, youngest son and I really liked. The texture is a little different but still very good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I just made these tonight since they fit my lactose intolerant ways. I warned the family and they were a little hesitant but ended up eating half of the batch! My only change was no prune, just four ounces of applesauce instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Delicious! I was craving chocolate and wanted something I didnt feel too guilty about so I made these. I did however cheat a little and changed the recipe slightly. I took the advice of others and added 7 TBS of chocolate, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, about 5 ounces of apple sauce, used 2 tablespoons of butter instead of oil, 1/2 cup real sugar and 1/4 splenda, and threw in a small handful of chocolate chips. This gave it a little decadence but not over the top fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States