Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
i found them a little chewy, but overall not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Wow! I just ate 6 pieces warm. I didn't use the babyfood prunes, but prune butter out of the store. And I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa. Really good brownies for the lunchboxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I always have loved really gooey brownies. These brownies are very rich and moist. They are delicious. When I made them, I kept going back for more. When you taste them, it is hard to believe that they are low in fat. Good Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
These are soo delicious! I don't understand the other reviews, maybe they are used to oil-soaked brownies because these are really yummy. I used canned plums which I pureed, cut the sugar and oil in half, doubled the vanilla, and still think they are incredible despite the reduced sugar and oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
These are good for low fat brownies. They were very chocolately and gooey. When I added the prunes I measured by the the tablespoon--4 of them and leveled them off with a knife. I didn't get the taste of prunes and they were very moist. I underbaked them by about 8 mins. I think that is why they were nice and gooey. They were a little too sweet for my taste and I would cut back on the sugar a bit next time. I am going to also add a little more vanilla, perhaps a scant teaspoon and a dash more salt to bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I didn't care for this recipe...no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I used a jar of prune/pear mix since the store didn't have prune by itself they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I tried this out on a several neighbors. They didn't go for it. It might be low-fat, but it's not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I found these brownies to be okay. Not to choclaty of a flavor. I could really taste the prunes. Baby food jars are actully 4.5 onces and I doubled the recipe so had a extra ounce in whiich I did not realize untill after. I will try again and reduce the amount of prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
These were pretty good for low fat brownies, but I have a quarrel with the # of brownies the submitter says the recipe makes. 2 DOZEN???? Don't think so. Makes 12 small brownies. I calculated (using MasterCook) the fat content at 3 grams each when making 12. But, I recognize that is pretty good. After all, they ARE brownies! Overall, good but not fabulous. Will keep the recipe for when I am craving chocolate. Hubby did not like them, said he tasted "something weird" in it (?prunes), but he is mistrustful that I might sneak tofu in there or something. Will make a batch for work and see what the gals say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States