Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Nothing special. Would rather eat a fatter brownie less often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREHOUSECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This recipe was pretty disappointing. I never throw out brownies but a few were eaten and the rest tossed out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I used regular applesauce in place of the prunes and doubled the recipe for a 13 x 9 inch pan. The result was a moist, chewy and slightly cakey brownie! I absolutely loved it and will certainly make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Don't do what I did and try and make these diabetic friendly too! My Grandfather (he's diabetic) didn't touch them! I used 1 cup of nutrasweet instead of 1 cup of sugar. They came out more cocoa tasting than chocolate tasting - I wasn't a fan. I ended up making an icing for them with instant low fat/ sugar free chocolate pudding. They were a little more bearable this way. I'm sure they would have been great had I not tampered with the recipe. Mind you my cousins loved them because they weren't too sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Not bad, but think i will stick to the full fat version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Scrumptious!!! A fabulous substitution that is so easy to make! I followed other reviewers and did 1 extra tbsp. cocoa, only 3/4 cup sugar, only 1 heaping tbsp. of oil, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 cup egg substitue, and nearly 1 tsp. salt. I threw in a small handful of mini, semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time,I'll bake for about 23 minutes, for a fudgier bite. You can dust w/ powdered sugar when serving them for others- that is if you don't eat them all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This has an interesting texture - kinda cakey yet pretty dense. I cut down on the sugar by a third and it was still very sweet. For a chocolate craving that's almost guilt-free, it's good. My family didn't like them at all - commented on a strange "pruney" aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I was very impressed with this recipe. Not quite like typical brownies made from a standard mix or from scratch, but for low-fat brownies I don't think you could do any better than these! They were fudgey, dense (in a good way), rich, and very satisfying. I baked them the full 30 minutes and found that this way the "edge" pieces have a bit of a crunch to them that some people like. Otherwise, they cooked very evenly and didn't seem at all overdone. I, too, used egg substitute (1/2 cup) in place of the eggs to cut the fat a bit more. I couldn't find baby food prunes so I used plums and apples (Gerber brand). The brownies didn't taste fruity or in any way odd for using the baby food. I don't see how a person could get 24 brownies out of this recipe, though. I used an 8x8 inch pan and cut them into 9 hearty-sized brownies, which makes the nutritional analysis about 3 grams of fat per brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
These are awesome .. I added the extra tablespoon of cocoa powder and I didn't have just plain jarred prunes so I used my son's Healthy Times Orchard Fruit blend of baby food which has prunes and other fruits. They turned out yummy. Kind of cake like rather than crunchy, but when dieting and need a chocolate fix these are awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I love these brownies, I will for sure make them again. For a yummy dessert heat a piece in the microwave and scoop vanilla frozen yogurt or ice cream on top! No one could tell they were low fat until I told them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States