Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I gave it 3 stars because I made so many substitutions (Splenda, egg beaters, etc.) But they did not rise at all, unlike many of the pics on here. Has anyone tried adding a little baking powder to this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
OMG! Only change was sub unsweetened applesauce for prunes because I didn't have any, add 2 Tbsp of semi-swt choc chips. Possibly the best brownie I've ever had! Hubby & baby agree! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I used the best cocoa power available here (which is Hershey's). This resulted in an excellent fudge style brownie. The whole pan has 24 X 1.8 = 43.2 grams of fat. I cut the pan into 16 pieces which meant they had 2.7 grams of fat each. With a dab of a fat free whipped topping, these are a really decadent dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This made a pretty fudgy, tasty, chewy brownie. I added half whole wheat flour and also doubled the recipe, and it made a nice full pan. The first bite scared me at first because I had finish some store bought brownies recently and they don't taste nearly as delicious. But I think it's a good substitute considering the low fat, whole wheat factor. I think maybe adding some kind of chips would probably make this really great. Maybe applesauce might have been better than the prunes, cuz you can taste the prunes a little bit. Not bad, just a different kind of taste. I'll make these again but I'll try making it with applesauce and some peanut butter candy chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathleen Vadala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
These were OK for a low-fat, low-sugar recipe (I tried it for a diabetic friend), but it didn't fool anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Tried it with some of the substitutes and just not that happy, didn't taste like a brownie me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Adding to my previous review, I forgot to mention that I baked this in a mini muffin pan and ended up with 21 servings. This makes it easier to keep with the 24 servings idea, although I usually eat between two and four per day since they are so tiny. I actually separated the recipe into four mini muffins per ziplock bag and threw them in the freezer. I take out one bag per day so that I don't over eat them because they are pretty wonderful. Also, baking them in the mini muffin pan creates more chewy edges than baking them in a bigger pan, which is always a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieM
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These are good for a healthier option. I halved the recipe so I think mine came out more cake like because I did not put it in the right size baking tray also I think I need to reduce the cooking time even more. I added just a few white and milk chocolate chips as others recommended. I am not a fan of prunes and was well impressed that you cant really taste them it just tastes a bit fruit cake like . I did add an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder as others recommended could even add more :) I also substituted a small portion of white sugar with light brown. They definitely help with the chocolate cravings when trying to be healthy. looking forward to making again with a few more healthier tweeks e.g. substitute applesauce for the oil, use some whole wheat flour etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Well, they had a nice texture, chewy and fudgy, but with a fruity flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Brownies are good low-fat alternative. For chocolate lovers add another Tbsp of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States