Can't Get Enough Caramel Cookies! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Easy recipe..simple ingredients..no flour or eggs and has an old fashioned good flavor. Exactly what I was looking for when I came across this recipe...My only suggestion is to reduce the amount of salt suggested..will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Warning - buy enough ingredients to make two batches - these disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Great texture, but way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
The taste is great, the texture however, is lacking. I agree that it would be delicious over ice cream or yogurt. It's a bit like candied oatmeal. I added some chocolate chips and pecans to dress it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SU-LI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Okay - it sounded like a good idea at the time. I bake all the time and have literally made hundreds of batches of cookies (I owned my own cafe). These are NOT cookies. But.....after reading the other reviews, I doubled the recipe except for the salt and baking soda (which was the perfect combination) and I baked for 8 minutes which was not nearly enough. So, I stirred it around a bit and baked a little more. Then I added raisins, sliced almonds and coconut and baked a little more. I kept stirring to break it up a bit. I guess total baking time was 25-30 minutes. I ate some of it while warm which was good but this morning - I put some in a bowl and poured milk on it and it was really good. It even stayed somewhat crunchy. So, the reason this got ONE star is because it's NOT a cookie, it's cereal. :) It would also be good stirred into yogurt or sprinkled on ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
wonderful! this recipe is perfect for those sugary, buttery cravings.. goes from mix to munch in about 20 minutes. i nibbled at them until i'd eaten the whole pan. but next time i will omit or cut down the salt - maybe 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
My husband loves these cookies. They can be a bit tricky, but if worked properly they do come out as bar cookies=not crumbly. My first attempt resulted in the granola like product others have mentioned. The second time I made them I made sure I mixed them extra (used my hands like for meatloaf). I had a hard time pressing them into the pan so that it was covered. To get past this I placed a sheet of wax paper over the mixture and rolled it down with a rolling pin. Worked great! Baked per instructions, used a pizza cutter to cut them will still warm but not hot. Decreased salt by half, added vanilla. Yummy. (They are much better after they cool.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I would not call this a cookie. More like a snack. It is very good and addicting. Kind of like eating carmel popcorn. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
We cooked this a few times before we figured out the crumbly (mess) vs. chewy (what you want)technique. We think that it turns out crumbly and falls apart- the crumbly granola bar result some people get- if you use quick cooking oats (maybe the finer grind means there isn't enough caramel to coat the oats enough or something). When we use regular rolled oats (health food store kind as well as Quaker) we got a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was way to salty for everyone in my house,all I could taste was salt, should have read the reviews first and used less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States