Can't Get Enough Caramel Cookies! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These were definitely not what I was expecting. The end result was a crumbly, not so caramel bar cookie tasting mess. The only thing that I did differently from the recipe was use 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine. Maybe that was my mistake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Came out all crumbly and would not hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These cookies turned out really yummy for me after following the recipe exactly. I used store-brand quick-cooking oats and spread the mix on a flat baking stone. It was bubbly when I removed from the oven after 8 minutes. I think it was too hot when I cut it because it didn't cut very smoothly but it hardened as it cooled and the cookies were awesome. I did use a spatula to remove the cookies from the stone because they threatened to crumble - these are very delicate. Hubby and friends thought they were fantastic, as did I. Probably not the best thing for your figure, but sometimes you've just got to forget about your figure and indulge your sweet tooth. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These are super simple and very tasty. My husband loves them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENEVA18

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
The VERY best caramel cookies! These cookies are a surprising blend of sweet, crunchy yet chewy goodness!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
These bars taste amazing, but are nothing appetizing to look at. No one touched them at the potluck last evening. They do not slice well - but break apart in a mess. The edges were very difficult to remove from the pan. I would suggest buttering the vertical sides of the pan well - as this may help. My husband likes them - and will eat them all he says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was awful! Not a cookie! It was a crumbly mess! I am sorry to be so negative, but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
a word to the wise, never cook in bulk, i took the stuff and put it in a cake pan... now I have a stove to clean and a room to air out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I just made my second attempt and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong? The first time I followed the recipe as is .... with the suggestion of vanilla. The first batch turned out dry and similar to a granola bar. Today I decreased the oats to a cup and a half and baked until the caramel cookies had completely risen and were bubbly on top. I had to keep looking in on them and probably cooked the cookies for 15 minutes. I cut while warm and they came apart. I pressed the ingredients firmly into the pan to! The end result was a crispy crumbly granola like square more so than a cookie with a salt/sweet caramel flavor I do like but are too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My daughter made them for the fair and they completely fell apart. I watched her every step of the way and she did everything according to the directions. I don't know what went wrong, but it was a complete flop. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States