Can't Get Enough Caramel Cookies! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
These were incredible -- easy to make and tasty! I don't know why people say to eliminate the salt because you really need the balance from the sweetness of the brown sugar. I used butter instead of margarine, sprayed the cookie sheet with non-stick spray, baked at 375 instead of 400 and in 8 minutes they were bubbly and lightly browned. I cut them after a minute of letting them rest and they stayed together in squares, no crumbles. I told my DH to "taste" them and he ate 3! The rest are going to a tailgate tomorrow -- Go Hokies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRIAM01
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I followed some other advice and double the recipe, but left the salt at 1 tsp. I also added 2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of cinnamon. I baked in a greased stoneware bar pan for 10 minutes. I let it cool for about 10 minutes, then cut them. They were crumbly when I tried to get one out of the pan. So I left the rest in the pan to cool completely and they didn't crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
SALTY! I can see that these would have potential, but as the recipe is written there is much too much salt, and it totally spoils the bars. On the other hand, it's certainly easy to whip together and the ingredients are things that are usually around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Ok but not great. Good for a real big sugar craving though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
What the heck are these things? They are a weird bar thingy with sugar and butter? Yup..that's how they came out....they were just like the picture, so I know I did it right...I just don't get what's good about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
A bit too salty for me, and I would reduce the salt but my mom LOVES them =) So we're all happy with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Great recipe! So easy and it takes very little time! I doubles the recipe and added vanilla. So addictive!! I took them to a cookout and they were gone before any of the other deserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chowchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
These were pretty good. The were crispy and not crumbly at all. They were good! I would make them again and add something like cranberries and pecans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
These are interesting. Definitely a sweet and salty effect, it kind of reminds me of kettle corn in that aspect. (Except with oats instead of popcorn). I don't know if I would make these again, I wasn't that impressed with them, and would definitely not make to serve to guests. I may try them cutting back on the salt some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this recipe and cut out the salt as other readers suggested. I didn't bake in a pan however I dropped them like a cookie on a slightly greased cookie sheet and baked them for about 7-8 minutes. They are a very brittle cookie but my family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States