Can't Get Enough Caramel Cookies! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Love these! Yes they are messy and yes they are pretty basic, but i love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I admit, initially after reading the short list of ingredients i figured these would simply turn out as somethin like lightly flavored brown sugar granola bar--however.. they were absolutely fantastic (added the tsp vanilla). I mean it.. i am one for fancy baking, and long lists... but honestly not name a better sweet treat that i have tried recently! - Thanks so much. keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Not bad, added a tsp of vanilla and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
i did everything according to the recipe, it just tasted like sweet oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
These were alright - buttery and sugary, but not much else. Not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious. Definitely be careful with the salt: I used 1/2 teaspoon and will probably cut it to 1/4 next time, but I like the salty-sweet taste. Mine didn't fill a 9x13 pan, although I didn't double it. And don't cut them when warm, they will fall apart. Some of mine were a little crumbly, but even the crumbs were delicious! You may need to experiment to get them right; I think I will let them harden longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Waaay too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I love the taste but need some advice. I put them on a sided 9x13 cookie sheet, sprayed with Pam. They baked up and over the edge and my oven is a mess and my house is full of smoke. Should I put them into a regular 9x13 pan with high sides like for brownies next time? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used to make a cookie called "Rickety Uncles" for my family and to bring to potlucks, etc. My kids loved them! Over time, I lost the recipe and forgot about them. Lately I have been looking for the recipe again and scoured my cookbooks and the internet. None of the internet recipes I found were right. I did an ingredient search here and found this recipe. The ingredients I remembered (brown sugar, margarine, oats and baking soda) matched but many of the comments weren't describing my cookie. I decided to try it anyhow and as I was making it, instinct took over. I think I found the one thing missing that may help many of the crumbly/salty issues. I melted the margarine, added the brown sugar and salt and "cooked" it for a minute or two to kind of melt the brown sugar, stirring constantly. While still on medium high heat, I added the baking powder. The consistency completely changes and the mixture becomes foamy and light coloured. I cooked and stirred it for about another minute before taking it off the heat and adding the oats. I spread it thinly on the sprayed cookie sheet, baked for 8 minutes, let it sit for maybe 5 minutes, cut into squares and had to try one. I think I found my Rickety Uncles!! I'd be interested to know if anyone that made them according to the recipe notices a difference trying it this way. Not too salty, not too sweet, a little greasy and a whole lot of good! **Update** I use a 9x13x1/2" cookie sheet. A 9x13 cake pan would also work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Excellent. Very easy to make and quite delicious to eat. Definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States