Can't Get Enough Caramel Cookies! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I made these "cookies" today and followed the directions exactly. They tasted like caramel flavored butter pats and I had to rub the butter that accumulated on the bottom off before I could serve them. It would be much more expedient to just apply them directly to the hips and avoid the detour through the digestive tract. They tasted great, but the greasy texture made them unappetizing and unattractive. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I have made these bars 4 or 5 times, and they have never disappointed me or anybody else who has tried them. They are meant to have that "sweet and salty" taste, so if that turns you off, don't add so much salt. The baking powder also adds to the saltiness, so adjust the amount of salt to your taste. Make sure you thoroughly mix the oats in so that all of it is coated with the butter/sugar mixture, and really press it down into the pan. I lined my pan with foil, which works very well for this recipe. And yes, it's even better with a teaspoon or so of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Bitter aftertaste.. Used quick cooking oats instead of regular- will try again with regular oats, maybe that's the answer..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
While this recipe is very fast, easy and interesting, I would not make it again. We found it too salty and too crumbly. The brown sugar taste was masked by the salt and the butter made it really greasy. Did not satisfy my craving for something sinful last night. sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Very tasty! Sounded like such an interesting recipe, with such varied comments, I had to try it... and it was a very unique treat! I love the salty-sweet combo. Had a really great flavor and texture, and by the time you'd get a square out of the pan, it was crumbly. Scoring when still hot might help. Either way, very tasty and my husband and I had gobbled them up in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I learned the hard way that you CAN'T use GENERIC oats- use name brand or you will have a crumbly mess! With name brand oats, this is wonderfully addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
These are awesome! I'm totally addicted! My brother and my fiancé gobbled the whole pan up in an hour! I've made them many different times, and never had a problem with them coming out crumbly. I don't time them, and I watch until the whole pan is bubbly (I think that may be the problem for some people... they haven't let the ingredients melt together). I used only half the salt, and loved the salty/sweet flavor. I sometimes add cinnamon depending on my mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
Ack, I'm very disappointed to report that I fell victim to the crumbly curse. I, like so many other reviewers, followed this recipe exactly, yet I ended up with a incohesive, sugary, oaty mess. I took a tip from the others and used it as ice cream topping, which was OK, but too sweet and messy. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Wow I have no idea what I did wrong here. This recipe ended up a pan of oats with brown sugar mixed in. No texture, no form. No good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Addicted to these bars!! I never understood why so many people said these were crumbly. I used regular butter, no salt and a little vanilla as suggested by others and NEVER came out w/ less than perfect until...I used a generic brand of oats instead of Quaker. Salty,disgusting mess. Hope that helps. These are Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies V

Chocolate oatmeal cookies that don't require oven time.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States