Cannoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by UncleSlappy
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This turned out great....!! I did add a 1/4 teaspoon of orange extract to add a little bit more of the true cannoli flavors, but other then that I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My son had a project due in school and needed something from his heritage. We decided on the cannoli pie. IT WAS AWESOME!!! I did use the recommendation of other people and i beat the sugar and the ricotta cheese together with a mixer. It did take the lumps out and made for a creamier filling. I did add a bit more sugar though. Not much. I also loaded it with choc chips. We loved it and my son said all his classmates loved it as. Now i'm going to make it for us at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! A few modifications - used whole milk ricotta; used hand mixer to make it smoother; no maraschino cherries or almonds; added extra choc chips; used a choc graham cracker crust & drizzled melted chips over top with fresh whipped cream as garnish. Unbelievable!! Absolutely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Traditional Sicilian Cannoli Filling is made with impastata ricotta which is a thick ricotta not cream. If you can not find impastata put the ricotta in a fine strainer for about a couple hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmella saab
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love cannoli, so this was a must try for me. After reading the reviews I decided that I wanted to make it work and not be so runny, so I added 4 egg whites to the mix. I also eliminated the almonds (didn't have any) and topped the pie w/ pine nuts. Placed the mixture in a pie crust and baked it @ 350 degrees for about 40-45 mins. until it tested done. I allowed it to cool to room temp. and cut a slice. It held together perfectly and was very good, very rich, but very good. I would make this again. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This recipe was so simple to make and was a big hit after Christmas dinner. We will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this without almonds or cherries, using only chocolate chips (a generous amount), & after I poured the filling into the pie shell, I topped it with chocolate chips to make it look more finished. It was pretty good, & was better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is very nice for Easter. I simplified the recipe by cutting out all the extras and sticking to the semi-sweet chocolate chips. The most important thing is to DRAIN THE RICOTTA by placing it in a strainer lined with cheesecloth or some kind of filter, for at least one hour. The less moisture, the better. I would not recommend freezing this at all. It was a very sweet after dinner treat on Easter and the kids loved it. Next time, I would replace the chocolate chips with a block of semi-sweet chocolate and use a grater. I'm giving it five stars-- will make this next year at Easter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very nice. I have made this before and we also sprinkled a dusting of coffee powder (we have a burr grinder and ground coffee on the finest setting) on a few of the pieces. I liked this a lot. Easy to make and we all enjoyed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I made this by the recipe the first time and liked the floavor but not the texture. The second time, I added 4 oz cream cheese,and replaced the almonds and cherries with amaretta. I blended it in the food processor and it turned out perfect. Similiar taste, much better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States