Cannoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This recipe was so simple to make and was a big hit after Christmas dinner. We will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I absolutely love canolis. I'm not sure why the recipe calls for freezing. I preferred it cold but not frozen. I'm going to stick with canolis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This was so-so. Like one other reviewer, I didn't care for it frozen at all. I think it might be better to use cream cheese and condensed milk. Maybe use the cherries as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this without almonds or cherries, using only chocolate chips (a generous amount), & after I poured the filling into the pie shell, I topped it with chocolate chips to make it look more finished. It was pretty good, & was better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I must have missed something on this recipe. It didn't taste like any of the cannolis I have had and I had to throw the whole pie out. I used a lower fat ricotta, could this have been the problem? Texture was very grainy and not fluffy as I had expected. Pie was "gray" in color which didn't appear to be right to me. Help, this sounded great, I would love to know if I did something wrong to have achieved these results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
As is this recipe needs some improvement. The taste was good, it didn't really taste like a cannoli but I still really liked the taste. The ricotta needs to be whipped to give the filling a smooth texture, otherwise it tastes grainy. Also the amount of filling this recipe makes doesn't fill a pie crust very well. I would suggest either doubling the filling or piping whipped cream on top. Otherwise you have a pie that looks half filled. I also found that thawing it for 15 minutes was not enough. I had to let it thaw for at least 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My son had a project due in school and needed something from his heritage. We decided on the cannoli pie. IT WAS AWESOME!!! I did use the recommendation of other people and i beat the sugar and the ricotta cheese together with a mixer. It did take the lumps out and made for a creamier filling. I did add a bit more sugar though. Not much. I also loaded it with choc chips. We loved it and my son said all his classmates loved it as. Now i'm going to make it for us at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Traditional cannolis are filled with a pastry cream and this is the wrong texture and flavor. The addition a high volume of chips and cherries and almonds created a pie with a lot of "stuff" in it and the filling tasted even more bland because of it. Freezing it made it hard as a rock but mere refrigeration made it runny. All in all, not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is very nice for Easter. I simplified the recipe by cutting out all the extras and sticking to the semi-sweet chocolate chips. The most important thing is to DRAIN THE RICOTTA by placing it in a strainer lined with cheesecloth or some kind of filter, for at least one hour. The less moisture, the better. I would not recommend freezing this at all. It was a very sweet after dinner treat on Easter and the kids loved it. Next time, I would replace the chocolate chips with a block of semi-sweet chocolate and use a grater. I'm giving it five stars-- will make this next year at Easter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love cannoli, so this was a must try for me. After reading the reviews I decided that I wanted to make it work and not be so runny, so I added 4 egg whites to the mix. I also eliminated the almonds (didn't have any) and topped the pie w/ pine nuts. Placed the mixture in a pie crust and baked it @ 350 degrees for about 40-45 mins. until it tested done. I allowed it to cool to room temp. and cut a slice. It held together perfectly and was very good, very rich, but very good. I would make this again. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States