Cannoli Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Traditional Sicilian Cannoli Filling is made with impastata ricotta which is a thick ricotta not cream. If you can not find impastata put the ricotta in a fine strainer for about a couple hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmella
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I made this by the recipe the first time and liked the floavor but not the texture. The second time, I added 4 oz cream cheese,and replaced the almonds and cherries with amaretta. I blended it in the food processor and it turned out perfect. Similiar taste, much better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Pie was very easy and quick to make. Just a note - it took over 3 1/2 hours to thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
It was okay. The recipe needs some tweaking. I always make a recipe following the cooks directions first, so I get a feel for the recipe. Just a few small changes will make this recipe a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! A few modifications - used whole milk ricotta; used hand mixer to make it smoother; no maraschino cherries or almonds; added extra choc chips; used a choc graham cracker crust & drizzled melted chips over top with fresh whipped cream as garnish. Unbelievable!! Absolutely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very nice. I have made this before and we also sprinkled a dusting of coffee powder (we have a burr grinder and ground coffee on the finest setting) on a few of the pieces. I liked this a lot. Easy to make and we all enjoyed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Didn't like texture of frozen ricotta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love cannoli, so this was a must try for me. After reading the reviews I decided that I wanted to make it work and not be so runny, so I added 4 egg whites to the mix. I also eliminated the almonds (didn't have any) and topped the pie w/ pine nuts. Placed the mixture in a pie crust and baked it @ 350 degrees for about 40-45 mins. until it tested done. I allowed it to cool to room temp. and cut a slice. It held together perfectly and was very good, very rich, but very good. I would make this again. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is very nice for Easter. I simplified the recipe by cutting out all the extras and sticking to the semi-sweet chocolate chips. The most important thing is to DRAIN THE RICOTTA by placing it in a strainer lined with cheesecloth or some kind of filter, for at least one hour. The less moisture, the better. I would not recommend freezing this at all. It was a very sweet after dinner treat on Easter and the kids loved it. Next time, I would replace the chocolate chips with a block of semi-sweet chocolate and use a grater. I'm giving it five stars-- will make this next year at Easter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Traditional cannolis are filled with a pastry cream and this is the wrong texture and flavor. The addition a high volume of chips and cherries and almonds created a pie with a lot of "stuff" in it and the filling tasted even more bland because of it. Freezing it made it hard as a rock but mere refrigeration made it runny. All in all, not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States