Cannoli I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The shells for the cannoli's was delicious! It fried up perfectly, and was such a delicious cookie. I noticed after the first few batches that I fried up, the oil started to get very bubbly, and come up out of the pan. The oil should probably be replaced at least 1 time throughout the cannoli-frying process. Also, based on other reviewers suggestions, I used powdered sugar instead of granulated. I used more than suggested though-- I like things on the sweeter side. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was my first time making cannoli's and I thought that they were very good, just like i remembered having them as a child. I drained the cheese in a cheese cloth by separating the cheese into thirds and wrapping a piece of cheese cloth around it to form a ball and began squeezing the bottom and from the top alternately untill it was fairly dry, but, I wanted some moisture remaining. I also added more mini chocolate chips than called for, and some chopped pecans. I plan on making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnsecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Just a few notes on this recipe. Only fry your shells for a few minutes until golden. Also, use only whole milk ricotta cheese, and only use powdered sugar. The shells last several days and can be made ahead. The filling must be made the day you are serving. The shells make way more than the recipe calls for but the filling seemed to make less. I served 40 people and everyone just raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
The shell recipe is excellent, though I found I had to add a bit of extra water to make them roll out. I rolled them using the finest (#1) setting on my pasta machine and I got way more cannoli shells than the recipe indicated, about 40 shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made my own filling, so this review is just for the shells. I had a really hard time finding recipes online for cannoli shells. Most of the recipes for cannoli's that I found simply said to go to the store and buy the shells already premade, so it was nice to find an easy to work with recipe for cannoli shells. I followed the recipe to the T and have decided to make a few modifications for the next time I make these. The dough is very dense and hard to work with. It's very hard to roll out and you really do need to make sure the dough is quite thin before fry it. I may try using my pasta maker to roll out the dough for me next time and see how that works. Also, I could really taste the vinegar in the shells after they were cooked. I don't know if the vinegar is added for consistency of the dough or for taste, but I think I will try taking that out next time I make these and try using sherri or wine in substitute. I did really like the consistancy of the shells. They were dense, sweet, and crubly when you bit into them, which is just how they should be. Overall, I do think this is a good base and starter point the the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I bought the shells at the local Italian bakery. The filling was runny, I should have drained the cheese. A little corn starch thickened it right up. The flavor was great. I lucked out and found the citron at the Italian deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Great recipe over all - I substituted a few things to make the filling thicker and added a dash more vanilla. The dough was fantastic for the shells, a pleasant taste, but by the next day, the shells were turning soft. Must be eaten within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJones
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I am rating the cannoli shells, as I made my own filling. I found the dough to be too dry, so I added an additional 2 tbsp. of water. The dough itself is pretty tough so you have to knead for at least 5 minutes before you get it to the right consistency. Also, make sure you roll them out as thin as you can, which is difficult because of the dough consistency. They should be nice and thin with a little bubbling. The cooking time for me was about 5 minutes, as I only submerged them half way in oil. The recipe itself is good. Nice flavoring, but I'm still on the lookout for the perfect shell recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I used the shell recipe many years ago. It has a better taste and consistency to it then the ones made with wine. Being Italian I did not follow the filling recipe because we use powdered sugar instead of regular white sugar. But over all everything came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
My shells were a disaster - but the filling was amazing! I used mini chips, and powdered sugar as someone had suggested - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States