Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I wanted to make cannoli for a desert, but didn't have the molds, so I decided to try this instead. I also only had a toaster oven to work with at the time, so I made the cake in two 9" round tins. The cake is delicious, no matter how you make it. You will need more cream to frost a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura M.
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
The only way you could not LOVE this cake is if you just don't make it properly. It sounds complicated, but is actually very easy if you follow the well-written instructions. You will wow your friends and family with this recipe! In Chicago we have a bakery that makes a famous cannoli cake, and EVERYONE that tasted this cake said it was better than the bakery's version. My husband loves pistachios and cannoli, so I made this for his birthday and he swore it was the best cake he had ever eaten. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I took this cake to an Italian themed party. Hardly anyone tried it. It tasted ok, but don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by football widow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
For dessert recipes that use ricotta, I have found that it's essential to have two things: 1)the very best quality ricotta, and 2)all excess moisture drained, using cheesecloth and a strainer. This will give your cannoli cream the texture you want. Just put cheesecloth, a few layers thick, into a strainer or colander, put your ricotta into it (make sure you have it in a bowl to catch the water), and let it drain for an hour or so in the fridge. You should get a nice, dense consistency to the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I was disappointed with the consistency of the filling. I wanted it to be firm, like that of a pumpkin roll. Although the flavor was good, I'll certainly play with the filling recipe next time. The sponge cake was very nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I loved this recipe! I took it to a family function (my family is very old fashioned Sicilian) and they loved it. I used Orange Juice to substitute the orange liqueur and it came out great. I will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
not so impressed.... after putting all the stuff together for the cannoli cream i wasnt happy with the way it tasted, wasn't cannoli enough for me. I ended up adding more vanilla and cin. i also didnt have enough time to wait for the cannoli cream to thicken so i added 1 package of white chocolate instant pudding and that helped the flavor big time. The cake are of it was more like an sponge cake but it had something missing... couldnt really figure out what. I think next time (because despite the fact that my boyfriend and I weren't thrilled, everyone else in my family, who are harsh critics, loved it) I'm gonna make a vanilla cake and just slice it like they do at my favorite italian place I think also making twice the amount of liquour spread is a good idea its fantastic to see the liquour as you cut into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was very good. I used all ricotta cheese and omitted the cream cheese and chilled it to thicken. I sprinkled the roll with cinnamon for a little extra flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
It turned out great! The only thing I would add is that I added another 1/8 cup of confectioners sugar and an 1/8 teaspoon of cream of tartar after adding the alcohol to the frosting and it gave it a much better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLOOP30
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
To much orange liquor and the cake was to soft/mushy with the filling. We love cannoli's in our house! This recipe was disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOOP30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States