Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Did everything as written except made an actual cake instead of the roll and the cake was very dry. For the filling I used mascarpone instead of bothering with draing the ricotta and it turned out perfectly, as good as Italian bakery's cannoli filling! As far as the cake goes, I will keep searching for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I forgot to rate this a year & a half ago :( MY STARS! I made this cake for my husband's birthday & it was amazing! People couldn't get over how awesomely delicious it is. It was better than an Epicurious super expensive cake the next birthday. I remember I exactly followed the directions and couldn't have been more pleased. Worth every bit of the not-complicated work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I didnt have the right size pan so my cake turned out a little bigger than it should have and because of that, my filling wasnt as thick as I would have liked it. I follwed the advice of others and drained the ricotta on a cheese cloth in the regrig for over an hour and the consistency of the filling was perfect...Not runny at all. I used reg size choc chips and used a food processer to make them more fine. Next time I might ad a little extra to the filling. One thing missing in the directions was what to do with the TBSP of sugar at the end, so I added about 1 tbsp to the nuts and choc for the topping plus I added a big dash to my whipped cream topping because I prefer it a bit sweeter. The cake was good the night I served it But it was GREAT the second day!!! MUCH better! Next time I will definatly make at least two days in advance. It needs the time for the flavors to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This cake is fantastic! I food-process the chocolate chips in the filling to give it a smoother consistency--not only does it give it a better flavor (you're not always biting into chunks of chocolate), but it also thickens the filling a bit which keeps it from running out the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this for my son's birthday. The only changes I made was to use orange juice instead of the liqueur. It was a big hit. I might add a little orange zest next time to see if enhances the flavor. Not sure it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I Love the Filling for this cannoli roll. I have to admit I have never made the recipe as stated because years ago i was simply looking for a cannoli filling for my bakery and after looking at hundreds of recipes this one seemed like what I wanted. I use this filling between a simple vanilla cake or I have even added about a 1cup of it to a vanilla cake batter and make cannoli cake. It is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I liked this cake and it looks very pretty, but maybe it was just the flavor of the cake itself that I didn't love. It was a little bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
i made the cake into a 6 inch pan. i changed the yield to 8 ppl and got 3 layers out of the cake mix. As for the filling and whipped cream, I did a serving of 10 ppl just to make sure i had enough. It turned out really great and the customer loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gong294

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
good instructions. recipe turned out just fine. use metal utensils where requested. do not stir in whites and flour, fold just until combined. cake batter should look like yellow marshmallow cream. try not to spend too much time spreading batter into jellyroll pan. its ok if it is not perfect. bake 10 mins and no more. your dish towel should be more like pillow case material and not like a towel. Brush the flavored sugar and liquor mixture lightly. just enough to cover the cake. you may have some juice left over. not too tight on rolling it up. i rolled mine up from the short side. (end zone of a football field) ricotta should be full fat and not part skim. you should strain the cheese by placing it in a small strainer then hover it over a bowl and cover the top with paper towel and place in fridge for as long as you can. i prepped the cake with the cheese and left it in the fridge (rolled up) until the next day. then added the whipped cream before serving. (the cake takes up a lot of room in the fridge) it was a fab desert. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I was only looking for a cannoli filling recipe when I found this one- and it really delivered! The addition of the cream cheese makes the filling more stable, which is perfect for the wedding cake I am putting it in. As a professional baker, I can tell by looking at the recipe that it would be excellent, but my five stars is for the filling alone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States