Cannoli Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I've made this a few times now and it always gets finished. Many requests from people to make it for them :) It's a great recipe that I will continue to bake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe!! I had a slice of a cannoli cake from an Italian restaurant that is 2 hours from my home. I immediately knew I'd need to find a recipe for it because of the drive. This is it!!! I went to the local Italian market for ricotta. One of the owners said to use Whole milk ricotta, not the part skim which is what they use for their cannolis. Part skim is for lasagna. I followed another reviewers tip to drain the ricotta cheese. I think next time, I would roll it out on the short side, to get a better cake to filling ratio, or try rolling the cake around a rolling pin to cool (another tip from another recipe). I also used regular size chocolate chips that I processed in a food processor. I liked the shavings of chocolate throughout. I also used the heavy cream that is not ultra pasturized, from Trader Joes. Very nice cake, and very satisfying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Did everything as written except made an actual cake instead of the roll and the cake was very dry. For the filling I used mascarpone instead of bothering with draing the ricotta and it turned out perfectly, as good as Italian bakery's cannoli filling! As far as the cake goes, I will keep searching for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I forgot to rate this a year & a half ago :( MY STARS! I made this cake for my husband's birthday & it was amazing! People couldn't get over how awesomely delicious it is. It was better than an Epicurious super expensive cake the next birthday. I remember I exactly followed the directions and couldn't have been more pleased. Worth every bit of the not-complicated work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I didnt have the right size pan so my cake turned out a little bigger than it should have and because of that, my filling wasnt as thick as I would have liked it. I follwed the advice of others and drained the ricotta on a cheese cloth in the regrig for over an hour and the consistency of the filling was perfect...Not runny at all. I used reg size choc chips and used a food processer to make them more fine. Next time I might ad a little extra to the filling. One thing missing in the directions was what to do with the TBSP of sugar at the end, so I added about 1 tbsp to the nuts and choc for the topping plus I added a big dash to my whipped cream topping because I prefer it a bit sweeter. The cake was good the night I served it But it was GREAT the second day!!! MUCH better! Next time I will definatly make at least two days in advance. It needs the time for the flavors to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This cake is fantastic! I food-process the chocolate chips in the filling to give it a smoother consistency--not only does it give it a better flavor (you're not always biting into chunks of chocolate), but it also thickens the filling a bit which keeps it from running out the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this for my son's birthday. The only changes I made was to use orange juice instead of the liqueur. It was a big hit. I might add a little orange zest next time to see if enhances the flavor. Not sure it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I Love the Filling for this cannoli roll. I have to admit I have never made the recipe as stated because years ago i was simply looking for a cannoli filling for my bakery and after looking at hundreds of recipes this one seemed like what I wanted. I use this filling between a simple vanilla cake or I have even added about a 1cup of it to a vanilla cake batter and make cannoli cake. It is the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I liked this cake and it looks very pretty, but maybe it was just the flavor of the cake itself that I didn't love. It was a little bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
i made the cake into a 6 inch pan. i changed the yield to 8 ppl and got 3 layers out of the cake mix. As for the filling and whipped cream, I did a serving of 10 ppl just to make sure i had enough. It turned out really great and the customer loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gong294

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States